Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
3/3/2024

Part I. General Provisions

18VAC85-150-10. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia:

Board

Practice of behavior analysis

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"BACB" means the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, Inc.

"BCBA®" means a Board Certified Behavior Analyst®.

"BCaBA®" means a Board Certified Assistant Behavior Analyst®.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.16 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 16, eff. May 7, 2014.

18VAC85-150-20. Public participation.

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, provides for involvement of the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.16 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 16, eff. May 7, 2014.

18VAC85-150-30. Current name and address.

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and address of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when sent to the latest address of record provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or change in the address of record or public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 16, eff. May 7, 2014; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 12, eff. March 22, 2019.

18VAC85-150-40. Fees.

A. The following fees have been established by the board:

1. The initial fee for the behavior analyst license shall be $130; for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be $70.

2. The fee for reinstatement of the behavior analyst license that has been lapsed for two years or more shall be $180; for the assistant behavior analyst license, it shall be $90.

3. The fee for active license renewal for a behavior analyst shall be $135; for an assistant behavior analyst, it shall be $70. The fees for inactive license renewal shall be $70 for a behavior analyst and $35 for an assistant behavior analyst. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the licensee in each odd-numbered year. For 2021, the renewal of an active license as a behavior analyst shall be $108, and the renewal fee for an inactive license shall be $54; the renewal fee for an active license as an assistant behavior analyst shall be $54, and the renewal fee for an inactive license shall be $28.

4. The additional fee for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be $50 for a behavior analyst and $30 for an assistant behavior analyst.

5. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to another jurisdiction for a license shall be $10.

6. The fee for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000.

7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $50.

8. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15.

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board shall not be refundable.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 16, eff. May 7, 2014; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 9, eff. January 27, 2016; Volume 34, Issue 7, eff. December 27, 2017; Volume 36, Issue 1, eff. October 2, 2019; Volume 36, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2020.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.