Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
6/23/2024

Part I. General Provisions

18VAC85-20-10. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia:

Board

Healing arts

Practice of chiropractic

Practice of medicine or osteopathic medicine

Practice of podiatry

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Approved institution" means any accredited school or college of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or chiropractic located in the United States, its territories, or Canada.

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia.

"Principal site" means the location in a foreign country where teaching and clinical facilities are located.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.1, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 13, Issue 3, eff. November 27, 1996; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 38, Issue 10, eff. February 2, 2022.

18VAC85-20-20. Public Participation Guidelines.

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, entitled Public Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR465-02-1 § 1.2, eff. January 18, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 6, Issue 4, eff. December 20, 1989; Volume 6, Issue 8, eff. February 14, 1990; Volume 6, Issue 26, eff. October 24, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 26, eff. October 23, 1991; Volume 10, Issue 9, eff. February 23, 1994; Volume 10, Issue 24, eff. September 21, 1994; Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998.

18VAC85-20-21. Current addresses.

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current address of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when sent to the latest address of record given by the licensee. Any change in the address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 23, eff. August 19, 2009; Volume 35, Issue 12, eff. March 22, 2019.

18VAC85-20-22. Required fees.

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board shall not be refundable.

B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made payable as designated by the board.

C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry shall be $302, and the fee for licensure in chiropractic shall be $277.

D. The fee for a temporary authorization to practice medicine pursuant to clauses (i) and (ii) of § 54.1-2927 B of the Code of Virginia shall be $25.

E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow license issued pursuant to 18VAC85-20-210 shall be $55. The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited professorial or fellow license in 2020, the fee shall be $30. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.

F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and residents pursuant to 18VAC85-20-220 shall be $55. The annual renewal fee shall be $35. For renewal of a limited license to interns and residents in 2020, the fee shall be $30. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.

G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00.

H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be $337 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $312 for licensure in chiropractic, due in each even-numbered year in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be $115 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $105 for licensure in chiropractic. For renewal of licensure in 2020, the fee shall be $270 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry and $250 for licensure in chiropractic.

I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure or certification pursuant to § 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia or for requesting reinstatement after any petition to reinstate the certificate or license of any person has been denied shall be $2,000.

J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia that has expired for a period of two years or more shall be $497 for licensure in medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatry ($382 for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of $115) and $472 for licensure in chiropractic ($367 for reinstatement application in addition to the late fee of $105). The fee shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.

K. The fee for a letter of verification of licensure shall be $10, and the fee for certification of grades to another jurisdiction by the board shall be $25.

L. The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall be $168, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $55 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of an inactive license in 2020, the fee shall be $135.

M. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $75, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $25 for each renewal cycle. For renewal of a restricted volunteer license in 2020, the fee shall be $60.

N. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $50.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 21, eff. August 5, 1998; amended, Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 4, eff. December 8, 1999; Volume 16, Issue 13, eff. April 12, 2000; Volume 16, Issue 21, eff. August 2, 2000; Volume 20, Issue 10, eff. February 25, 2004; Volume 20, Issue 20, eff. July 14, 2004; Volume 22, Issue 9, eff. February 8, 2006; Volume 24, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2008; Volume 24, Issue 14, eff. April 16, 2008; Volume 29, Issue 4, eff. November 21, 2012; Volume 29, Issue 26, eff. September 25, 2013; Volume 32, Issue 9, eff. January 27, 2016; Volume 34, Issue 7, eff. December 27, 2017; Volume 34, Issue 16, eff. May 2, 2018; Volume 36, Issue 1, eff. October 2, 2019; Volume 36, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2020.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.