Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
10/15/2021

Part III. Course Providers

24VAC22-40-50. Course approval.

A. The board may approve a course provider under the following provisions:

1. The provider has submitted an application to the board prior to offering the program.

2. The submitted application includes at a minimum the following information:

a. Name of provider;

b. Proposed course schedule including locations (as applicable);

c. Charges to participants;

d. Description of program content and objectives;

e. Credentials of faculty members;

f. Method of delivery;

g. Evaluation procedure;

h. Mechanism for recordkeeping; and

i. Any such information as the board deems necessary to assure quality and compliance.

3. Course curriculum must include but is not limited to the following:

a. Ethical practice;

b. Recordkeeping;

c. Recent state and federal laws and regulations;

d. Review of relevant federal regulations;

e. Titling and registration requirements including use of dealer related license plates;

f. Offsite sales;

g. Financing;

h. Dealer practices;

i. Salespersons licenses; and

j. Advertising.

4. At least six hours of each course offering if in person or the equivalent of six hours for electronic and correspondence based courses, as approved by the executive director, must be directly related to the scope of dealer operators. A course containing content which promotes, sells, or offers goods, products, or services shall not be approved. However, the provider of a course may promote goods, products, or services at the conclusion of a course provided that it is made clear to participants that the course has concluded and that attendance at any additional presentations are optional.

B. The board shall notify the provider within 60 days following the receipt of a completed application of approval or disapproval of a program.

C. The board shall periodically review and monitor programs.

D. Any changes in the information previously provided about an approved program or provider must be submitted to the board. Failure to do so may cause the board to withdraw its approval of the course provider or program.

E. The executive director has the authority to suspend the approval of any course or provider and the board may withdraw approval for good cause.

Statutory Authority

§§ 46.2-1503.4 and 46.2-1506.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 24, eff. September 2, 2010.

24VAC22-40-60. Course provider responsibilities.

The provider of an approved program shall be responsible for the following:

1. Providing to each participant who successfully completes the required recertification course a certificate with at minimum, (i) the name of the provider; (ii) name of the participant; and (iii) the date of completion.

2. Maintaining all records on courses and its participants for a period of five years and making those records available to the board upon request.

3. Entering names of participants completing the course into a database as directed by the board within five days of the participant completing the course.

4. Collecting the recertification application fee from applicants and transmitting such fee to the board as directed by the board within 15 days of receiving the fee from the applicant.

Statutory Authority

§§ 46.2-1503.4 and 46.2-1506.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 24, eff. September 2, 2010.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.