Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 3.2. Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food
Chapter 41.1. Industrial Hemp
3/4/2024

§ 3.2-4126. (Effective pursuant to Acts 2023, cc. 744 and 794, cl. 2) Civil penalties.

A. The Commissioner may, in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.), deny the application for a regulated hemp product retail facility registration or suspend or revoke the regulated hemp product retail facility registration of any person that violates a provision of this article.

B. Any person that (i) offers for sale or sells at retail a regulated hemp product without first obtaining a registration to do so from the Commissioner in accordance with § 3.2-4122, (ii) continues to offer for sale or sell at retail a regulated hemp product after revocation or suspension of such registration, (iii) offers for sale or sells at retail a substance intended for human consumption, orally or by inhalation, that (a) contains a total tetrahydrocannabinol concentration that is greater than 0.3 percent or (b) contains more than two milligrams of total tetrahydrocannabinol per package and does not contain an amount of cannabidiol that is at least 25 times greater than the amount of total tetrahydrocannabinol per package, (iv) offers for sale or sells at retail a regulated hemp product in violation of § 3.2-4123, or (v) offers for sale or sells at retail a substance intended for human consumption, orally or by inhalation, that is advertised or labeled as containing an industrial hemp-derived cannabinoid without a regulated hemp product retail facility registration is, in addition to any other penalties provided, subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each day a violation occurs. Such penalty shall be collected by the Commissioner and the proceeds shall be payable to the State Treasurer for remittance to the Department.

2023, cc. 744, 794.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.