Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 38.2. Insurance
Chapter 18. Insurance Agents
9/20/2019

This section has more than one version with varying effective dates. Scroll down to see all versions.

§ 38.2-1871. (Effective until January 1, 2021) Licensees exempt from continuing education requirements of article.

A. Resident or nonresident agents who have been issued a license during the last 12 months of the biennium in which such licenses are issued, and who are not otherwise exempt from the continuing education requirements for that license, shall be exempt from fulfilling the continuing education credit requirements set forth in this article for that license for that biennium.

B. The following licensees are exempt from fulfilling the continuing education credit requirements set forth in this article:

1. Life and health insurance consultants who are also licensed both as life and annuities insurance agents and as health agents and who satisfy the continuing education requirements needed for continuation of their life and annuities and health agent licenses;

2. Property and casualty insurance consultants who are also licensed as property and casualty agents and who satisfy the continuing education requirements needed for continuation of their property and casualty agent license;

3. Nonresident agents who furnish evidence in the form and manner required by the Board of their current good standing in their home state, provided that the insurance supervisory official of the nonresident agent's home state will grant similar exemptions to Virginia residents; and

4. Agents who have applied for and received a permanent exemption from the continuing education credit requirements set forth in this article by December 31, 2018.

1992, c. 570; 1994, c. 175; 1996, c. 159; 1997, c. 583; 2000, c. 522; 2001, cc. 32, 706; 2018, c. 668.

§ 38.2-1871. (Effective January 1, 2021) Licensees not subject to the continuing education requirements of this article.

A. A resident or nonresident agent who has been issued a license during the last 13 months of the two-year period set forth in subsection B of § 38.2-1868.1 and in §§ 38.2-1825.1 and 38.2-1840 shall be exempt from fulfilling the continuing education course requirements set forth in this article for that license for that biennium.

B. The following licensees are not subject to the continuing education course requirements set forth in this article:

1. Life and health insurance consultants who are also licensed both as life and annuities insurance agents and as health agents and who satisfy the continuing education course requirements needed for continuation of their life and annuities and health agent licenses;

2. Property and casualty insurance consultants who are also licensed as property and casualty agents and who satisfy the continuing education course requirements needed for continuation of their property and casualty agent license;

3. Nonresident agents who furnish evidence in the form and manner required by the Board of their current good standing in their home state, provided that the insurance supervisory official of the nonresident agent's home state will grant similar exemptions to Virginia residents; and

4. Agents who have applied for and received a permanent exemption from the continuing education course requirements set forth in this article by December 31, 2018.

1992, c. 570; 1994, c. 175; 1996, c. 159; 1997, c. 583; 2000, c. 522; 2001, cc. 32, 706; 2018, c. 668; 2019, c. 675.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.