Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 6.2. Financial Institutions and Services
Chapter 15. Consumer Finance Companies
6/24/2021

This section has more than one version with varying effective dates. Scroll down to see all versions.

§ 6.2-1523. (Effective until January 1, 2021) Additional charges prohibited; exceptions.

In addition to the interest, late charges, and processing fee permitted under § 6.2-1520, no further or other amount whatsoever for any examination service, brokerage, commission, fine, notarial fee, or other thing or otherwise shall be directly or indirectly charged, contracted for, collected, or received, except:

1. Insurance premiums actually paid out by the licensee to any insurance company or agent duly authorized to do business in the Commonwealth for insurance for the protection and benefit of the borrower written in connection with any loan;

2. The actual cost of recordation fees or, on loans over $100, the amount of the lawful premiums, no greater than such fees, actually paid for insurance against the risk of not recording any instrument securing the loan; and

3. A handling fee not to exceed $15 for each check returned to the licensee because the drawer had no account or insufficient funds in the payor bank.

Code 1950, § 6-308; 1966, c. 584, § 6.1-278; 1978, c. 625; 1981, cc. 37, 38; 1984, c. 296; 1986, c. 502; 1990, c. 751; 1995, c. 2; 2001, c. 308; 2010, c. 794.

§ 6.2-1523. (Effective January 1, 2021) Additional charges prohibited; exceptions.

In addition to the interest, late payment fees, and loan processing fee permitted under § 6.2-1520, no further or other amount whatsoever for any examination service, brokerage, commission, fine, notarial fee, or other thing or otherwise shall be directly or indirectly charged, contracted for, collected, or received, except:

1. Insurance premiums actually paid out by the licensee to any insurance company or agent duly authorized to do business in the Commonwealth or another state for insurance for the protection and benefit of the borrower written in connection with any loan;

2. The actual cost of recordation fees or, on loans over $100, the amount of the lawful premiums, no greater than such fees, actually paid for insurance against the risk of not recording any instrument securing the loan; and

3. A handling fee not to exceed $25 for each check returned to the licensee because the drawer had no account or insufficient funds in the payor bank.

Code 1950, § 6-308; 1966, c. 584, § 6.1-278; 1978, c. 625; 1981, cc. 37, 38; 1984, c. 296; 1986, c. 502; 1990, c. 751; 1995, c. 2; 2001, c. 308; 2010, c. 794; 2020, cc. 1215, 1258.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.