Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 13.1. Corporations
Chapter 9. Virginia Stock Corporation Act
5/31/2020

§ 13.1-734. Appraisal notice and form.

A. If a corporate action requiring appraisal rights under § 13.1-730 becomes effective, the corporation shall deliver a written appraisal notice and the form required by subdivision B 1 to all shareholders who satisfy the requirements of § 13.1-733. In the case of a merger under § 13.1-719, the parent corporation shall deliver an appraisal notice and form to all record shareholders who may be entitled to assert appraisal rights.

B. The appraisal notice shall be delivered no earlier than the date the corporate action specified in subsection A of § 13.1-730 became effective and no later than 10 days after such date and shall:

1. Supply a form that (i) specifies the first date of any announcement to shareholders made prior to the date the corporate action became effective of the principal terms of the proposed corporate action, (ii) if such announcement was made, requires the shareholder asserting appraisal rights to certify whether beneficial ownership of those shares for which appraisal rights are asserted was acquired before that date, and (iii) requires the shareholder asserting appraisal rights to certify that such shareholder did not vote for or consent to the transaction as to the class or series of shares for which appraisal is sought;

2. State:

a. Where the form must be delivered and where certificates for certificated shares are required to be deposited and the date by which those certificates must be deposited, which date may not be earlier than the date by which the corporation must receive the required form under subdivision b;

b. A date by which the corporation must receive the form, which date may not be fewer than 40 nor more than 60 days after the date the subsection A appraisal notice is delivered, and state that the shareholder shall have waived the right to demand appraisal with respect to the shares unless the form is received by the corporation by such specified date;

c. The corporation's estimate of the fair value of the shares;

d. That, if requested in writing, the corporation will provide, to the shareholder so requesting, within 10 days after the date specified in subdivision b, the number of shareholders who return the forms by the specified date and the total number of shares owned by them; and

e. The date by which the notice to withdraw under § 13.1-735.1 must be received, which date must be within 20 days after the date specified in subdivision b; and

3. Be accompanied by a copy of this article.

Code 1950, §§ 13-85, 13.1-75, 13.1-78; 1956, c. 428; 1968, c. 733; 1972, c. 425; 1975, c. 500; 1984, c. 613; 1985, c. 522; 2005, c. 765; 2007, c. 165; 2010, c. 782; 2012, c. 706; 2019, c. 734.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.