Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 23.1. Institutions of Higher Education; Other Educational and Cultural Institutions
Chapter 31. Educational Authorities, Centers, Committees, Funds, Institutes, and Partnerships

§ 23.1-3126. Board of trustees.

A. The Center shall be governed by a board of trustees (the board), consisting of 23 members as follows: four members of the House of Delegates to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; two members of the Senate to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; the Director of the Council or his designee; the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System or his designee; the chief executive officers of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Radford University, the University of Virginia, the University of Virginia's College at Wise, Old Dominion University, Emory and Henry College, Virginia Commonwealth University, and Virginia Highlands Community College or their designees; and seven nonlegislative citizen members to be appointed by the Governor who represent Southwest Virginia public education and area business and industry, including one division superintendent, one public school teacher, two business and industry leaders, one representative of the technology industry, one representative of the tourism industry, and one representative of the health care industry.

Nonlegislative citizen members of the board shall be chosen from among residents of the Southwest region of the Commonwealth and shall be citizens of the Commonwealth.

B. Legislative members and the representatives of the Council, the System, and the named institutions of higher education shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for terms of four years. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.

No nonlegislative citizen member is eligible to serve more than two consecutive four-year terms; however, a member appointed to serve an unexpired term is eligible to serve two consecutive four-year terms immediately succeeding such unexpired term.

C. Nonlegislative citizen members are not entitled to compensation for their services. Legislative members of the board shall be compensated as provided in § 30-19.12. All members of the board shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in the work of the Center as provided in §§ 2.2-2813 and 2.2-2825. The funding for the costs of compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided by the Center.

D. The board shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its membership.

1991, c. 627, § 23-231.3; 1992, c. 420; 1996, cc. 135, 763; 1998, c. 78; 1999, cc. 424, 437; 2000, c. 89; 2002, c. 292; 2004, c. 1000; 2005, c. 550; 2016, c. 588.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.