Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 38.2. Insurance
Chapter 13. Reports, Reserves and Examinations, Insurance Holding Companies, Reinsurance Intermediaries, and Managing General Agents
5/29/2020

§ 38.2-1379. Valuation manual for policies issued on or after the operative date of the valuation manual.

A. For policies issued on or after the operative date of the valuation manual, the standard prescribed in the valuation manual is the minimum standard of valuation required under subsection B of § 38.2-1366, except as provided under subsection E or subsection G.

B. The operative date of the valuation manual is January 1 of the first calendar year following the first July 1 as of which all of the following have occurred:

1. The valuation manual has been adopted by the NAIC by an affirmative vote of at least 42 members, or three-fourths of the members voting, whichever is greater.

2. The Standard Valuation Law, as amended by the NAIC in 2009, or legislation including substantially similar terms and provisions, has been enacted by states representing greater than 75 percent of the direct premiums written as reported in the following annual statements submitted for 2008: life, accident and health annual statements; health annual statements; or fraternal annual statements.

3. The Standard Valuation Law, as amended by the NAIC in 2009, or legislation including substantially similar terms and provisions, has been enacted by at least 42 of the following 55 jurisdictions: The 50 states of the United States, American Samoa, the American Virgin Islands, the District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico.

C. Unless a change in the valuation manual specifies a later effective date, changes to the valuation manual shall be effective on January 1 following the date when the following have occurred:

1. The change to the valuation manual has been adopted by the NAIC by an affirmative vote representing:

a. At least three-quarters of the members of the NAIC voting, but not less than a majority of the total membership; and

b. Members of the NAIC representing jurisdictions totaling greater than 75 percent of the direct premiums written as reported in the following annual statements most recently available prior to the vote in subdivision C 1 a: life, accident and health annual statements, health annual statements, or fraternal annual statements; or

2. The valuation manual becomes effective pursuant to an order of regulation adopted by the Commission.

D. The valuation manual shall specify all of the following:

1. Minimum valuation standards for and definitions of the policies or contracts subject to subsection B of § 38.2-1366. Such minimum valuation standards shall be:

a. The Commissioners reserve valuation method for life insurance contracts, other than annuity contracts, subject to subsection B of § 38.2-1366;

b. The Commissioners annuity reserve valuation method for annuity contracts subject to subsection B of § 38.2-1366; and

c. Minimum reserves for all other policies or contracts subject to subsection B of § 38.2-1366.

2. Which policies or contracts or types of policies or contracts are subject to the requirements of a principle-based valuation in subsection A of § 38.2-1380 and the minimum valuation standards consistent with those requirements;

3. For policies and contracts subject to a principle-based valuation under § 38.2-1380:

a. Requirements for the format of reports to the commissioner under subdivision B 3 of § 38.2-1380 and which reports shall include information necessary to determine if the valuation is appropriate and in compliance with this article.

b. Assumptions shall be prescribed for risks over which the company does not have significant control or influence.

c. Procedures for corporate governance and oversight of the actuarial function, and a process for appropriate waiver or modification of such procedures.

4. For policies not subject to a principle-based valuation under § 38.2-1380, the minimum valuation standard shall either:

a. Be consistent with the minimum standard of valuation prior to the operative date of the valuation manual; or

b. Develop reserves that quantify the benefits and guarantees, and the funding, associated with the contracts and their risks at a level of conservatism that reflects conditions that include unfavorable events that have a reasonable probability of occurring.

5. Other requirements, including those relating to reserve methods, models for measuring risk, generation of economic scenarios, assumptions, margins, use of company experience, risk measurement, disclosure, certifications, reports, actuarial opinions and memorandums, transition rules, and internal controls; and

6. The data and form of the data required under § 38.2-1381 and to whom the data is required to be submitted.

The valuation manual may specify other requirements, including those for data analyses and reporting of analyses.

E. If a specific valuation requirement is absent or if a specific valuation requirement in the valuation manual is not, in the opinion of the Commission, in compliance with this article, then the insurer shall, with respect to such requirements, comply with minimum valuation standards prescribed by the Commission by regulation.

F. The Commission may engage a qualified actuary, at the expense of the insurer, to perform an actuarial examination of the insurer and opine on the appropriateness of any reserve assumption or method used by the insurer, or to review and opine on an insurer's compliance with any requirement set forth in this article. The Commission may rely upon the opinion, regarding provisions contained within this article, of a qualified actuary engaged by the Commissioner of another state, district, or territory of the United States. As used in this subsection, the term "engage" includes employment and contracting.

G. The Commission may require an insurer to change any assumption or method that in the opinion of the Commission is necessary in order to comply with the requirements of the valuation manual or this article; and the insurer shall adjust the reserves as required by the Commission. The Commission may take other disciplinary action as permitted pursuant to § 38.2-219.

2014, c. 571.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.