Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 38.2. Insurance
Chapter 39. Mutual Assessment Life, Accident and Sickness Insurers
9/21/2019

§ 38.2-3917. Right to limit assessment liability; when contingent assessment liability waived.

Any mutual assessment life, accident and sickness insurer having a surplus to policyowners of at least $100,000 may limit the contingent assessment liability of members, or classes of members, to an amount not more than 1 additional current annual assessment. Any insurer having surplus to policyowners of at least $300,000 may issue contracts omitting the right to make contingent assessment against members if reserves for these contracts are established and maintained in the same manner as would be required by an insurer licensed pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 38.2-1000 et seq.) of this title. Contracts so issued shall be treated in all respects as nonassessment contracts.

1985, c. 400, § 38.1-549.18; 1986, c. 562.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.