Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 38.2. Insurance
Chapter 41. Fraternal Benefit Societies
8/7/2022

§ 38.2-4134. Penalties.

A. Any person who willfully makes a false or fraudulent statement in or relating to an application for membership or for the purpose of obtaining money from or a benefit in any society shall upon conviction be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 or be imprisoned not less than 30 days nor more than 1 year, or both.

B. Any person who willfully makes a false or fraudulent statement in any report or declaration required or authorized by this chapter, or of any material fact or thing contained in a statement concerning the death or disability of an insured for the purpose of procuring payment of a benefit named in the certificate, shall be guilty of perjury and shall be subject to the penalties therefor prescribed by law.

C. Any person who solicits membership for, or in any manner assists in procuring membership in, any society not licensed to do business in this Commonwealth shall upon conviction be fined not less than $50 nor more than $200.

D. Any other violation of this chapter shall be subject to § 38.2-218.

Code 1950, §§ 38-263, 38.1-578; 1952, c. 317, § 38.1-638.10; 1968, c. 654; 1986, c. 562.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.