Code of Virginia

Code of Virginia
Title 38.2. Insurance
9/16/2019

Article 4. Insurance Transactions.

§ 38.2-3915. Assessment contract.

Contracts issued by a mutual assessment life, accident and sickness insurer shall be on forms prescribed by the insurer and shall be substantially uniform among members of the respective classes of insurance written by the insurer. Each member shall pay his pro rata share of all losses or damages sustained, expenses of operations of the insurer, and the maintenance of an adequate surplus to policyowners as determined by the board of directors. Periodic assessments may be collected as advance premiums, or by past assessments, or by both methods. The amount of assessments shall be established by the board of directors of the insurer. When a contract is subject to assessment, the contingent liability of each member of an insurer shall be clearly stated in the contract. Contracts omitting the right of contingent assessment shall be deemed to be nonassessable.

1985, c. 400, § 38.1-549.16; 1986, c. 562.

§ 38.2-3916. Classification of risks; rates.

Any insurer writing mutual assessment life, accident and sickness insurance may classify the risks insured against, and fix the rate of assessment of premium for such insurance in accordance with the classifications.

1985, c. 400, § 38.1-549.17; 1986, c. 562.

§ 38.2-3917. Right to limit assessment liability; when contingent assessment liability waived.

Any mutual assessment life, accident and sickness insurer having a surplus to policyowners of at least $100,000 may limit the contingent assessment liability of members, or classes of members, to an amount not more than 1 additional current annual assessment. Any insurer having surplus to policyowners of at least $300,000 may issue contracts omitting the right to make contingent assessment against members if reserves for these contracts are established and maintained in the same manner as would be required by an insurer licensed pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 38.2-1000 et seq.) of this title. Contracts so issued shall be treated in all respects as nonassessment contracts.

1985, c. 400, § 38.1-549.18; 1986, c. 562.

§ 38.2-3918. Notice of assessment; how given.

After an assessment is made, the insurer shall give each member subject to the assessment written notice stating the amount of the assessment and the date when payment is due. Except where the provisions of the bylaws or the policy provide otherwise, the time of payment shall not be less than thirty days nor more than sixty days from the service of the notice. This notice may be served personally or mailed with the United States Postal Service. If sent by mail, notice shall be considered given at the time of mailing and shall be sent to the member at his address shown on the insurer's records.

1985, c. 400, § 38.1-549.19; 1986, c. 562.

§ 38.2-3919. Agents' licenses required.

A. Except as provided in subsection B, each individual who is a resident of this Commonwealth who desires to obtain a license to sell, solicit, or negotiate any of the classes of insurance specified in § 38.2-3902 shall obtain that license only when that individual has passed a written examination prescribed by the Commission.

B. Any individual who is licensed prior to July 1, 1990, and whose license is restricted to the classes of insurance specified in Category A of § 38.2-3902 shall be exempted from the written examination provision noted above.

C. Business entities, as defined in § 38.2-1800, whether resident or nonresident, as well as nonresident individuals who desire to obtain a license to sell, solicit, or negotiate any of the classes of insurance specified in § 38.2-3902 shall be eligible for licensing upon satisfaction of the requirements set forth in § 38.2-1836.

1985, c. 400, § 38.1-549.20; 1986, c. 562; 2001, c. 706.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of these sections may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.

The Virginia General Assembly is offering access to the Code of Virginia on the Internet as a service to the public. We are unable to assist users of this service with legal questions nor respond to requests for legal advice or the application of the law to specific facts. Therefore, to understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.

The Code of Virginia online database excludes material copyrighted by the publisher, Michie, a division of Matthew Bender. Copyrighted material includes annotations and revisors' notes, which may be found in the print version of the Code of Virginia. Annotated print copies of the Code of Virginia are available in most Virginia public library systems, from LexisNexis (1-800-446-3410), and from West, a Thomson-Reuters business (1-800-344-5008).