Code of Virginia

Code of Virginia
Title 8.01. Civil Remedies and Procedure
11/18/2019

Article 3. Limitations; Hearing and Decision.

§ 8.01-679. Failure of trial court clerk to deliver record to appellate court.

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, no appeal shall be refused or dismissed for failure to deliver the record within the required time if it shall appear from evidence satisfactory to the appellate court that the clerk of the court below failed to deliver to the clerk of the appellate court the record on appeal within the required time.

Code 1950, § 8-489; 1964, c. 7; 1976, c. 615; 1977, c. 617; 1984, c. 703.

§ 8.01-679.1. Arguments made on brief not waived by oral argument.

It shall not be necessary for any party to expressly reserve in oral argument any argument made on brief before an appellate court and failure to raise any such argument on oral argument shall not constitute a waiver.

1986, c. 268.

§ 8.01-680. When judgment of trial court not to be set aside unless plainly wrong, etc.

When a case, civil or criminal, is tried by a jury and a party objects to the judgment or action of the court in granting or refusing to grant a new trial on a motion to set aside the verdict of a jury on the ground that it is contrary to the evidence, or when a case is decided by a court without the intervention of a jury and a party objects to the decision on the ground that it is contrary to the evidence, the judgment of the trial court shall not be set aside unless it appears from the evidence that such judgment is plainly wrong or without evidence to support it.

Code 1950, § 8-491; 1977, c. 617.

§ 8.01-681. Decision of appellate court.

The appellate court shall affirm the judgment if there is no error therein, and reverse the same, in whole or in part, if erroneous, and enter such judgment as to the court shall seem right and proper and shall render final judgment upon the merits whenever, in the opinion of the court, the facts before it are such as to enable the court to attain the ends of justice. A civil case shall not be remanded for a trial de novo except when the ends of justice require it, but the appellate court shall, in the order remanding the case, if it be remanded, designate upon what questions or points a new trial is to be had.

Code 1950, § 8-493; 1977, c. 617; 1984, c. 703.

§ 8.01-682. What damages awarded appellee.

When any judgment is affirmed, whether in whole or in part, damages shall be awarded to the appellee on the portion of the judgment affirmed. When the judgment is for the payment of money, the damages shall be the interest to which the party is legally entitled, as provided in § 6.2-302 or any other provision of law, from the date of filing the notice of appeal until the date the appellate court issues its mandate. Such interest shall be computed upon the whole amount of the recovery affirmed, including interest and costs, and such damages shall be in satisfaction of all interest during such period of time. When the judgment is not for the payment of any money, except costs, the damages shall be such specific sum as the appellate court may deem reasonable, not being more than $2,500 nor less than $150.

Code 1950, § 8-495; 1977, c. 617; 1984, c. 703; 2010, c. 343; 2012, c. 58; 2016, c. 178; 2019, c. 134.

§ 8.01-683. When Clerk of Supreme Court to transmit its decisions.

When any term of the Supreme Court is ended, or sooner if the court so direct, the Clerk thereof shall certify and transmit its decision to the clerk of the court or tribunal below, as the case may be, except that it shall not be his duty to certify or transmit a copy of a judgment of affirmance unless the appellee shall have paid all fees due from him in the case, or shall endorse on such copy so much of the judgment, for the benefit of the clerk, as the unpaid fees shall amount to. If any clerk fail to comply with this section for twenty days, except as aforesaid, he shall forfeit fifty dollars to any person aggrieved thereby.

Code 1950, § 8-496; 1977, c. 617.

§ 8.01-684. Copies of Court's opinions to be furnished to counsel.

When a case is decided by an appellate court the clerk shall furnish a copy of the opinion rendered by the court thereon to each counsel of record without making any charge therefor.

Code 1950, § 8-497.1; 1977, c. 617; 1984, c. 703.

§ 8.01-685. Entry of decision in lower court; issue of execution thereon.

The court or other tribunal from which any case may have come to an appellate court shall enter the decision of the appellate court as its own, and execution or other appropriate process may issue thereon accordingly. When that decision is received by the clerk or secretary of the court or tribunal below, he shall enter it of record in his order book, and thereupon such execution may issue and such proceedings be had in the case as would have been proper if the decision had been entered in court or by such tribunal.

If the judgment of the lower court or tribunal is affirmed, in whole or in part, by the decision of an appellate court, execution or other appropriate process may issue thereon against the principal and surety on any appeal bond which may have been given, for the amount of such judgment, including the interest and cost and the damages awarded by the appellate court, not exceeding, however, the penalty of such bond.

Code 1950, § 8-498; 1977, c. 617; 1984, c. 703.

§ 8.01-686. Repealed.

Repealed by Acts 1984, c. 703.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of these sections may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.

The Virginia General Assembly is offering access to the Code of Virginia on the Internet as a service to the public. We are unable to assist users of this service with legal questions nor respond to requests for legal advice or the application of the law to specific facts. Therefore, to understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.

The Code of Virginia online database excludes material copyrighted by the publisher, Michie, a division of Matthew Bender. Copyrighted material includes annotations and revisors' notes, which may be found in the print version of the Code of Virginia. Annotated print copies of the Code of Virginia are available in most Virginia public library systems, from LexisNexis (1-800-446-3410), and from West, a Thomson-Reuters business (1-800-344-5008).