Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 620. Regulations Governing Fees for Onsite Sewage Disposal Systems, Alternative Discharge Systems, and Private Wells
6/6/2020

12VAC5-620-90. Refunds of Application Fee.

A. An applicant for a construction permit or certification letter whose application is denied may apply for a refund of the application fee. The application fee shall be refunded to the owner or agent, if applicable, if the department denies an application for the land upon which the owner intends to build his principal place of residence. When the application was made for both a sewage disposal system and a private well, both fees may be refunded at the owner's request. Any such request shall be considered a withdrawal of the application.

B. An applicant for a construction permit or a certification letter may request a refund of the application fee if the applicant voluntarily withdraws his application before the department issues the requested permit. The application fee will be refunded if the application is withdrawn before the department makes a site visit for the purpose of evaluating the application.

C. An applicant who has paid an application fee for a replacement well shall be refunded the application fee in full upon receipt by the department of a Uniform Water Well Completion Report, pursuant to 12VAC5-630-310, showing that the well that was replaced has been properly and permanently abandoned or decommissioned.

D. All applications for refunds must be made to the department no later than 12 months following the date upon which the applicant receives notification that his application for a construction permit or certification letter has been denied, within 12 months following the date upon which his application was withdrawn, or within 12 months following the date upon which any appeals of the denial of the application have been concluded.

E. All applications for refunds shall be made in writing in a form approved by the department.

F. Applications that have been withdrawn are not subject to appeal.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12, 32.1-164, and 32.1-176.4 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-34-03 § 3.3, eff. July 1, 1989; amended, Volume 32, Issue 10, eff. February 12, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.