Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing
Agency 80. Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians
Chapter 20. Hearing Aid Specialists Regulations
9/26/2020

18VAC80-20-250. Testing Procedures.

It shall be the duty of each licensee and holder of a temporary permit engaged in the fitting and sale of hearing aids to use appropriate testing procedures for each hearing aid fitting. All tests and case history information must be retained in the records of the specialist. The established requirements shall be:

1. Air Conduction Tests A.N.S.I. standard frequencies of 500-1000-2000-4000-6000-8000 Hertz. Intermediate frequencies shall be tested if the threshold difference between octaves exceeds 15dB. Appropriate masking must be used if the difference between the two ears is 40 dB or more at any one frequency.

2. Bone Conduction Tests are to be made on every client--A.N.S.I. standards at 500-1000-2000-4000 Hertz. Proper masking is to be applied if the air conduction and bone conduction readings for the test ear at any one frequency differ by 15 dB or if lateralization occurs.

3. Speech testings shall be made before fittings and shall be recorded with type of test, method of presentation and the test results.

4. The specialist shall check for the following conditions and, if they are found to exist, shall refer the client to a licensed physician unless the client can show that his present condition is under treatment or has been treated:

a. Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear.

b. History of active drainage from the ear within the previous 90 days.

c. History of sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss within the previous 90 days.

d. Acute or chronic dizziness.

e. Unilateral hearing loss.

f. Audiometric air bone gap equal to or greater than 15 dB at 500 Hertz, 1000 Hertz, and 2000 Hertz.

g. Visible evidence or significant cerumen accumulation or a foreign body in the ear canal.

h. Tinnitus as a primary symptom.

i. Pain or discomfort in the ear.

5. All tests shall have been conducted no more than six months prior to the fitting.

6. Post-fitting testing shall be made and recorded with type of test, method of presentation and the test results.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR375-01-02 § 5.9, eff. December 4, 1989; amended, Volume 07, Issue 11, eff. March 27, 1991; Volume 08, Issue 06, eff. January 15, 1992; Volume 11, Issue 22, eff. August 23, 1995; Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003; Volume 33, Issue 09, eff. February 1, 2017.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.