Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 20. Public Utilities And Telecommunications
Agency 5. State Corporation Commission
Chapter 205. Rules Governing Utility Rate Applications and Annual Informational Filings of Investor-Owned Gas Utilities

20VAC5-205-20. General and expedited rate increase applications.

A. An application for a base rate increase pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 56-232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia shall conform to the following requirements:

1. Exhibits consisting of Schedules 1 through 9, 11, 12, 14 through 19, 21, 22, 24 through 30, 31, and 34 through 44 and the utility's direct testimony shall be submitted. Such schedules shall be identified with the appropriate schedule number and shall be prepared in accordance with the instructions contained in 20VAC5-205-90.

2. An exhibit consisting of additional schedules may be submitted with the utility's direct testimony. Such exhibit shall be identified as Schedule 52 (this exhibit may include numerous subschedules labeled 52A et seq.).

B. The selection of a historical test period is up to the applicant. However, the use of overlapping test periods will not be allowed.

C. If not otherwise constrained by law or regulatory requirements, an applicant who has not experienced a substantial change in circumstances may file an expedited rate application as an alternative to a general rate application. Such application need not propose an increase in regulated operating revenues. If, upon timely consideration of the expedited application and supporting evidence, it appears that a substantial change in circumstances has taken place since the applicant's last rate case, then the State Corporation Commission (commission) may take appropriate action, such as directing that the expedited application be dismissed or treated as a general rate application. Prior to public hearing and subject to applicable provisions of law, an application for expedited rate increase may take effect within 30 days after the date the application is filed. Expedited rate increases may also take effect in less than 12 months after the applicant's preceding rate increase so long as rates are not increased as a result thereof more than once in any calendar year. An applicant making an expedited application shall also comply with the following rules:

1. In computing its cost of capital, as prescribed in Schedule 3 in 20VAC5-205-90, the applicant shall use the equity return rate approved by the commission and used to determine the revenue requirement in the utility's most recent rate proceeding.

2. An applicant, in developing its rate of return statement, shall make adjustments to its test period jurisdictional results only in accordance with the instructions for Schedule 25 in 20VAC5-205-90.

3. The applicant may propose new allocation methodologies, rate designs, and new or revised terms and conditions, provided such proposals are supported by appropriate cost studies. Such support shall be included in Schedule 40.

D. Rates authorized to take effect 30 days following the filing of any application for an expedited rate increase shall be subject to refund in a manner prescribed by the commission. Whenever rates are subject to refund, the commission may also direct that such refund bear interest at a rate set by the commission.

Statutory Authority

§ 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 40, Issue 7, eff. January 1, 2024.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.