Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications
Agency 5. State Corporation Commission
Chapter 407. Rules for Payphone Service and Instruments
1/19/2020

20VAC5-407-40. Registration, Renewal, and Cancellation Procedures for Psps.

A. PSPs shall register and pay a registration fee of $4.00 per payphone instrument before providing service to the public. Registration forms may be obtained by visiting the commission's website at: http://www.state.va.us/scc/division/puc/index.htm, by calling the Division of Communications, or by making a request in writing to the State Corporation Commission, Division of Communications, P. O. Box 1197, Richmond, Virginia 23218.

B. Upon completion of the registration process, the commission shall issue a registration certificate to the PSP to provide payphone service in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

C. The commission staff shall send out renewal notices and forms to all registered PSPs by December 16 of each year. Each PSP shall renew its registration certificate by January 16 of each year. To renew, each PSP shall:

1. Submit to the commission's Public Service Taxation Division a completed renewal form and list of payphone instruments owned in Virginia, specifying a telephone number, physical address, the name of the serving LEC, and the OSP for each payphone instrument. The physical address of each payphone instrument shall be confidential unless and until the commission orders otherwise.

2. Pay a nonrefundable renewal fee of $4.00 per payphone instrument, payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and mailed to the State Corporation Commission, Public Service Taxation Division, P. O. Box 1197, Richmond, Virginia 23218.

3. In addition to the renewal fee, pay a late filing fee of $1.00 per payphone, or a minimum of $50, whichever amount is greater, for all renewals postmarked after January 16 of each year.

D. To cancel its registration certificate with the commission, a PSP shall return its renewal form marked "cancel" or send a letter requesting cancellation of its certificate by January 16 of the year it wishes to cancel its certificate.

E. After March 16 of each year, the commission may issue a Rule to Show Cause ordering any PSP that has not properly registered or canceled its registration certificate to show cause why it should not be penalized for violation of this chapter. In addition, after notice and hearing, if the PSP is found to be in violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, a fine not to exceed $50 per payphone, or as determined by the commission, for all payphones previously registered may be imposed on the PSP, and the serving LEC may be ordered to disconnect service to the PSP.

Statutory Authority

§§ 12.1-13 and 56-508.16 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 18, Issue 09, eff. December 14, 2001.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.