Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications
Agency 5. State Corporation Commission
Chapter 407. Rules for Payphone Service and Instruments
1/23/2020

20VAC5-407-30. Registration, Renewal, and Cancellation Procedures for Osps.

A. OSPs, excluding those with commission-issued certificates of public convenience and necessity, shall register and pay a registration fee of $25 each year to provide operator services from payphones starting January 16, 2002. Registration forms may be obtained by visiting the commission's website at: http://www.state.va.us/scc/division/puc/index.htm, by calling the Division of Communications, or by making a request in writing to the State Corporation Commission, Division of Communications, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, Virginia 23218.

B. Upon completion of the registration process, the commission shall issue a registration certificate to the OSP to provide operator services from payphones in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

C. Each OSP shall renew its registration certificate by January 16 of each year. To renew, each OSP shall:

1. Submit to the commission's Public Service Taxation Division a completed renewal form.

2. Pay a nonrefundable renewal fee of $25, payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and mailed to the State Corporation Commission, Public Service Taxation Division, P. O. Box 1197, Richmond, Virginia 23218.

3. In addition to the renewal fee, pay a late filing fee of $10 for all renewals postmarked after January 16 of each year.

D. To cancel its registration certificate with the commission, an OSP shall return its renewal form marked "cancel" or send a letter requesting cancellation of its certificate by January 16 of the year it wishes to cancel its certificate.

E. After March 16 of each year, the commission may issue a Rule to Show Cause ordering any OSP that has not properly registered or canceled its registration certificate to show cause why it should not be penalized for violation of this chapter. In addition, after notice and hearing, if the OSP is found to be in violation of any of the provisions of this chapter, a fine of $50, or as determined by the commission, may be imposed on the OSP, and its certificate to provide operator services from payphones in the Commonwealth of Virginia may be canceled.

Statutory Authority

§§ 12.1-13 and 56-508.16 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 18, Issue 09, eff. December 14, 2001.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.