Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 22. Social Services
Agency 30. Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services
Chapter 100. Chapter 100 Adult Protective Services
1/27/2020

22VAC30-100-80. Imposition of Civil Penalty.

A. Local department review and recommendation.

1. Based on a decision by the local department director or his designee that a mandated reporter failed to report as required by § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, the local director shall prepare a written statement of fact concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report and submit the statement of fact to the commissioner.

2. The local director or his designee shall notify the mandated reporter in writing within 15 calendar days from the date of the determination of the intent to recommend that a civil penalty be imposed. The notification will include a copy of the local director's statement of fact concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report. The notification shall state the mandated reporter's right to submit a written statement to the commissioner concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report. The date of the notification is the postage date.

3. The mandated reporter's statement concerning his failure to report must be received by the commissioner within 45 days from the date of the local director's notification of intent to recommend the imposition of a civil penalty. A mandated reporter's statement received after the 45 days shall not be considered by the commissioner.

B. Review by the commissioner or his designee.

1. The commissioner or his designee shall review the local director's written statement of fact concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report and the mandated reporter's written statement in determining whether to impose a civil penalty.

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged to have not reported as required, the commissioner or his designee shall forward the recommendation to a court of competent jurisdiction.

3. The commissioner or his designee shall impose a civil penalty upon a mandated reporter who is determined to have not reported as required pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. Penalties shall be imposed as follows:

a. For first offenses of nonreporting pursuant to § 63.2-1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not more than $500.

b. For second and subsequent offenses pursuant to § 63.2-1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not less than $100 and not more than $1,000.

4. The commissioner or his designee shall notify the mandated reporter whether a civil penalty will be imposed and, if so, the amount of the penalty. This written notice shall describe the reasons for the imposition of the civil penalty. The date of notification shall be deemed to be the date the mandated reporter received written notice of the alleged violation. This notice shall include specifics of the violation charged and shall be sent by overnight express mail or by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested.

5. If a civil penalty is imposed, a copy of the notice to the mandated reporter shall be sent to the appropriate licensing, regulatory, or administrative agency and to the local director who recommended the imposition of the penalty.

6. Any mandated reporter has the right to appeal the decision to impose a civil penalty in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of the Code of Virginia and pursuant to Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC § 1397(3).

Historical Notes

Former 22VAC40-740-80, derived from Volume 23, Issue 10, eff. March 1, 2007; renumbered as 22VAC30-100-80, Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 01, eff. October 9, 2013.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.