Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 22. Social Services
Agency 40. Department of Social Services
Chapter 80. General Procedures and Information for Licensure
4/4/2020

22VAC40-80-520. Case Decision.

A. The commissioner, after review of the findings of fact and recommended decision of the hearing officer, shall make a case decision and issue an order in the case within 30 days from the date that the commissioner receives the hearing officer's recommendation (§§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-4021 of the Code of Virginia). The commissioner shall provide notification to the aggrieved party of the decision within 30 days of receipt of the hearing officer's recommendation. If the commissioner does not render a decision within 30 days, the aggrieved party to the case decision may provide a written notice to the commissioner that a decision is due. If no decision is made within 30 days from the commissioner's receipt of the notice, the decision is deemed to be in favor of the aggrieved party. Service of the notice of the commissioner's decision is achieved by mailing the notice of the case decision to the licensee, unless service is made by other means and acknowledged in writing by the licensee. If service is accomplished by mail, three days shall be added to the 30-day period. If the licensee wishes to appeal the decision, he shall have 30 days after service of the notice of case decision to make such request.

B. The signed original case decision shall remain in the custody of the agency as a public record, subject to the agency's records retention policy. The signed originals or facsimiles thereof, together with the full record or file of the case, shall be made available for public inspection or copying except as the agency may, in its discretion under § 2.2-4023 of the Code of Virginia, decide to withhold part or all of the records.

C. The provisions for appealing the commissioner's order in accordance with the Administrative Process Act are found at §§ 2.2-4025 through 2.2-4030 of the Code of Virginia.

D. When issuance or renewal of a license as an adult care facility has been refused by the commissioner, the applicant shall not thereafter for a period of one year apply again for such license. When issuance or renewal of a license for a child welfare agency has been refused by the commissioner, the applicant shall not thereafter for a period of six months apply again for such license.

EXCEPTION: An adult care facility or a child welfare agency may apply again for such license before the end of the applicable specified period if the commissioner in his sole discretion believes that there has been such a change in the conditions on account of which he refused the prior application as to justify considering the new application.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1733 and 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 20, Issue 24, eff. November 1, 2004.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.