Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 24. Transportation And Motor Vehicles
Agency 35. Commission On The Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program
Chapter 60. Ignition Interlock Program Regulations
1/19/2021

24VAC35-60-120. General service provider requirements.

Interlock service providers that are approved to perform ignition interlock services in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall:

1. Abide by all commission memorandums, directives, contract terms, and regulations pertaining to the statewide ignition interlock program unless prohibited by state law.

2. Resolve offender, court, DMV, ASAP, commission, and other stakeholder complaints as directed by the commission.

3. Install all ASAP authorized ignition interlock installations within the time parameters set forth by the commission. In situations where an interlock service facility or facilities become inoperable due to a large scale weather event or some other verified unforeseen circumstances, the service provider shall contact the commission within 24 hours with an action plan to mitigate the impact to customer service.

4. Resolve ignition interlock service facility compliance issues as directed by the commission.

5. Obtain approval from the commission before disseminating any offender training or advertising materials used in association with the Virginia interlock program.

6. Make modifications to the service provider company website that is used to review monthly calibration reports, upon reasonable request by the commission. Reasonable requests include, but are not limited to, changes due to language that is confusing, misleading, offensive, or inaccurate; changes required due to updated technology; changes to the Code of Virginia or the ignition interlock regulations; changes in workload; or changes in product enhancements.

7. Assume full liability for action taken or not taken by an ASAP or the commission due to an inaccurate or misleading report, whether electronic or hard copy, provided by the service provider.

8. Be accountable for Virginia offenders with ignition interlock devices installed by its company in another state and ensure that all Virginia interlock processes, regulations, request for proposal terms, contract terms, and commission requirements are met unless prohibited by state law.

9. Notify the commission within 15 days of disciplinary action received from a state where the service provider conducts or has conducted ignition interlock business. This notification shall include the reason for the disciplinary action. This requirement applies regardless of the existence of an appeal.

10. Provide information technology assistance and training, upon reasonable request, to the commission.

11. Report all changes to the ignition interlock device software or firmware, whether temporary or permanent, to the commission within 30 days of release in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

12. In the event of reported vehicle damage, alleged to be due to the service provider's ignition interlock device or workmanship:

a. Give immediate notice to the commission once becoming aware of the alleged damage;

b. Refrain from modifying or removing the ignition interlock device or its wiring until approved by the commission;

c. Exhibit the damaged property to the commission upon request; and

d. Provide applicable records and documents to the commission upon request, and permit copies to be made.

The commission, in its discretion, reserves the right to hire a qualified, independent expert to examine the vehicle and provide a report that includes an opinion as to the proximate cause of the damage and a repair or replacement estimate. In the event that the damage is determined to be attributable to the service provider's ignition interlock device or workmanship, the ignition interlock service provider shall indemnify the offender for the costs as estimated by the independent expert. In addition, the service provider shall pay for the reasonable cost of the independent expert's report.

Statutory Authority

§§ 18.2-270.1 and 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 32, Issue 21, eff. July 18, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.