Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 15. Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
Chapter 320. Fish: Fishing Generally
1/21/2020

4VAC15-320-120. Special Daily Permit for Fishing in Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, Douthat State Park Lake, Crooked Creek, and Wilson Creek.

A. It shall be unlawful to fish in the portion of Big Tumbling Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area, in Douthat State Park Lake and in Wilson Creek both above the lake to the park boundary and downstream to the lower USFS boundary, and in the Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County without having first paid to the department for such privilege a daily use fee. Such daily use fee shall be in addition to all other license fees provided by law.

B. This fee will be required from the first Saturday in April through September 30 for the portion of Big Tumbling Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area and Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County, and from the first Saturday in April through June 15 and from September 15 through October 31 at Douthat State Park Lake and Wilson Creek, except that the director may temporarily suspend fee requirements if conditions cause suspension of trout stocking. During the remainder of the year, Douthat State Park Lake, Wilson Creek, and the Crooked Creek fee fishing area in Carroll County will revert to designated stocked trout waters and a trout license will be required except as provided in 4VAC15-20-190, and beginning on January 1, 2018, the portion of Big Tumbling Creek within the Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area will revert to a seasonal catch and release area subject to 4VAC15-330-150. No fishing is permitted in these waters for five days preceding the opening day.

C. Upon payment of the daily use fee the department shall issue a special permit that shall be signed and carried by the person fishing.

D. Fishing shall begin at 9 a.m. on opening day at all fee areas. After opening day, fishing times will be as posted at each fee area.

E. The department may recognize clearly marked "children only" fishing areas within any department fee fishing area. Within these "children only" areas, children 12 years old or younger may fish without the daily use fee if accompanied by a fully licensed adult who has purchased a valid daily permit. No person older than 12 years of age may fish in these children-only areas. Also, children 12 years of age and younger can fish without a permit in all three fee fishing areas if under the direct supervision of a permitted adult. However, the combined daily creel limit for both adult and child or children in such a party shall not exceed six trout. During the fee fishing season these waters will be subject to 4VAC15-330-60, 4VAC15-330-80, and 4VAC15-330-90, as it relates to designated stocked trout waters.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-03-1 § 12, eff. January 1, 1985; amended, Volume 09, Issue 04, eff. January 1, 1993; Volume 11, Issue 05, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 13, Issue 05, eff. January 1, 1997; Volume 15, Issue 05, eff. January 1, 1999; Volume 17, Issue 06, eff. January 1, 2001; Volume 31, Issue 09, eff. January 1, 2015; Volume 33, Issue 10, eff. January 1, 2017.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.