Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation And Natural Resources
Agency 20. Marine Resources Commission
Chapter 1190. Pertaining to Gill Net Control Date
6/14/2024

4VAC20-1190-30. Limited Entry and Permits.

A. Either a Class A resident gill net permit, a Class A nonresident gill net permit, or a Class B gill net permit shall be required for a harvester before purchasing a gill net license.

B. A commercial fisherman is considered qualified for the Class A resident gill net permit if he is a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia, possesses a valid Virginia Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and satisfies one of the following conditions:

1. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license prior to December 31, 2005;

2. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 100 days in any one year from 2006 through 2008;

3. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 60 days in any two years from 2006 through 2008.

C. A commercial fisherman is considered qualified for the Class A nonresident gill net permit if he is not a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia, possesses a valid Virginia Commercial Fisherman Registration License, and satisfies one of the following conditions:

1. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license prior to December 31, 2005;

2. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 100 days in any one year from 2006 through 2008;

3. Possessed a valid Virginia gill net license and documented on Virginia mandatory reporting forms harvest from legally licensed gill nets for at least 60 days in any two years from 2006 through 2008.

D. A harvester is considered qualified for the Class B gill net permit if he does not satisfy the requirements described in subsection B or C of this section.

Statutory Authority

§ 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 6, eff. December 1, 2009.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.