Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 20. Marine Resources Commission
Chapter 1270. Pertaining to Atlantic Menhaden
4/7/2020

4VAC20-1270-60. Reporting Requirements by Menhaden Fishery Sector.

A. Each licensee of any purse seine vessel that harvests menhaden must submit a Captain's Daily Fishing Report to the commission on each nonweekend or nonholiday day that either purse seine sector is open for harvest. The Captain's Daily Fishing Report is produced by the National Marine Fisheries Service and provides preliminary estimates of harvest. Pursuant to § 28.2-204 of the Code of Virginia, those same licensees must submit to the commission actual weekly harvest reports that include vessel name and exact weight of menhaden landed, in pounds, by Wednesday of the following week. Once 97% of either purse seine sector's quota is projected and announced to have been met, each licensee of that purse seine sector must provide daily harvest totals to the commission's Interactive Voice Recording System.

B. The nonpurse seine menhaden commercial bait sector shall submit daily reports according to the schedule and reporting requirements established by 4VAC20-610-10, Pertaining to Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting.

C. When the commissioner announces that 90% of the nonpurse seine menhaden bait quota has been reached, each harvester of this sector is required to report his previous 10 days of landings to the commission's Interactive Voice Recording System and must continue to report his additional landings every 10 days until it is announced that the nonpurse seine bait quota has been attained. More frequent reporting is permissible. The commission may also implement other harvest conservation measures such as trip limits.

Statutory Authority

§ 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 29, Issue 17, eff. April 1, 2013.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.