Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 50. Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board
Chapter 85. Chapter 85 Nutrient Management Training and Certification Regulations
9/23/2020

4VAC50-85-80. Certificate Renewal.

The department will not renew a certificate if a proceeding to deny certification under 4VAC50-85-110 has begun, or if the department has found that the applicant violated any requirements of this chapter. A certificate is issued for two years and may be renewed on or before the expiration of a certificate by complying with all of the following requirements:

1. Submittal of a renewal application on the form the department requires;

2. Payment of a $100 renewal fee to the department;

3. Submittal of proof of satisfactory completion of at least four hours of continuing education pre-approved by the department within the past two years. Requests for pre-approval of continuing education courses must be received at least 60 days prior to the expected course date or dates and must include a detailed syllabus indicating time to be spent on each topic area covered. Continuing education hours must be in subject matter consistent with 4VAC50-85-60 C. Department personnel may attend continuing education sessions to verify that the requirements are met. Proof of attendance must be verified by the course provider. The department may accept continuing education units obtained in Delaware, Maryland and Pennsylvania if such continuing education units are specifically for the purpose of recertification in the state nutrient management certification program; and

4. Completion of at least one nutrient management plan or completion of four hours of continuing education pre-approved by the department within the past two years in addition to the requirements of subdivision 3 of this section.

Persons certified prior to January 11, 2006, shall attend a department approved training course in phosphorus nutrient management planning methods and assessment techniques prior to certificate renewal. The training course hours may be applied toward other continuing education requirements of this subsection.

Statutory Authority

§ 10.1-104.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 4VAC5-15-80, derived from VR217-03-00 § 8, eff. January 24, 1996; amended, Volume 22, Issue 07, eff. January 11, 2006; amended and renumbered, Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 11, eff. February 26, 2014.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.