Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 8. Education
Agency 20. State Board of Education
Chapter 800. Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes
6/25/2022

8VAC20-800-150. Qualifications and requirements for assistants.

A. Assistants shall be 16 years of age or older.

B. An assistant under the age of 18 years of age shall always work under the direct supervision of the provider or substitute provider. Direct supervision means being able to hear or see the assistant and children at all times.

C. An assistant 18 years of age or older shall not be left alone with children in care for more than two hours per day.

D. An assistant 18 years of age or older who is left alone with children in care shall have:

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in care, from the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or National Safety Council, or current CPR certification issued within the past two years by a community college, a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire department; and

2. Current certification in first aid from the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or National Safety Council, or current first aid certification issued within the past three years by a community college, a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire department.

EXCEPTION: An assistant who is a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to obtain first aid certification.

E. An assistant 18 years of age or older who meets the requirements for a substitute provider may act as the substitute provider when the provider is absent from the home for more than two hours.

Statutory Authority

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 22VAC40-111-150 derived from Virginia Register Volume 26, Issue 7, eff. July 1, 2010; renumbered, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 24, eff. July 1, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.