Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 8. Education
Agency 20. State Board of Education
Chapter 81. Regulations Governing Special Education Programs for Children with Disabilities in Virginia
8/10/2022

8VAC20-81-290. Appeal of administrative decision regarding funding.

A. The Virginia Department of Education's recommendation to disapprove local eligibility for funding under the Act, or withhold state and federal funds for special education and related services, may be appealed by a local educational agency. (34 CFR 76.401 and 34 CFR 300.155)

B. The procedures for the appeal of administrative decisions are as follows: (34 CFR 76.401 and 34 CFR 300.155)

1.The local educational agency shall request, in writing, a hearing by the Virginia Department of Education within 30 business days from the receipt of notification from the Superintendent of Public Instruction;

2. Within 10 business days from the date of request for a hearing, the Superintendent of Public Instruction shall notify the local educational agency in writing of the date, time, and location of the hearing;

3. The hearing shall be conducted within 15 business days from the date of notification;

4. The hearing shall be conducted by an independent hearing officer in conformance with the provisions of §§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia;

5. Witnesses and attorneys may be present and testify for the Virginia Department of Education or the local educational agency;

6. A written or electronic verbatim record shall be kept of all proceedings of the hearing;

7. The hearing officer shall review all pertinent evidence presented and shall render a decision based on the preponderance of evidence presented at the hearing and on applicable state and federal law;

8. No later than 10 business days after the hearing, the hearing officer shall issue a written ruling, including findings of fact and reasons for the findings;

9. The decision made by the hearing officer shall be final unless an appeal is requested by a local educational agency;

10. If the Virginia Department of Education does not rescind its final action after a review under this subsection, the applicant may appeal to the U.S. Secretary of Education under the provisions of the Education Department General Administrative Regulations; and

11. Notice of appeal shall be filed within 20 days after the local educational agency has been notified by the Virginia Department of Education of the results of the hearing.

Statutory Authority

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia; 20 USC § 1400 et seq.; 34 CFR Part 300.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 21, eff. July 7, 2009.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.