Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
6/19/2024

Chapter 160. Regulations Governing the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and CertificationOf Surgical Technologists

18VAC85-160-10. Definitions.

The following word and term when used in this chapter shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 9, eff. February 13, 2015.

18VAC85-160-20. Public participation.

A separate regulation, 18VAC85-11, Public Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 9, eff. February 13, 2015.

18VAC85-160-30. Current name and address.

Each licensee or certificate holder shall furnish the board his current name and address of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee or certificate holder shall be validly given when sent to the latest address of record provided or served to the licensee or certificate holder. Any change of name or address of record or public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.13 of the Code Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 9, eff. February 13, 2015; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 12, eff. March 22, 2019; Volume 37, Issue 2, eff. October 14, 2020; Volume 37, Issue 25, eff. September 1, 2021.

18VAC85-160-40. Fees.

A. The following fees have been established by the board:

1. The fee for licensure as a surgical assistant or certification as a surgical technologist shall be $75.

2. The fee for renewal of licensure or certification shall be $70. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the licensee or certificate holder in each even-numbered year. For 2020, the renewal fee shall be $54.

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be $25.

4. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $50.

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board are not refundable.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.13 of the Code Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 9, eff. February 13, 2015; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 9, eff. January 27, 2016; Volume 34, Issue 7, eff. December 27, 2017; Volume 36, Issue 1, eff. October 2, 2019; Volume 36, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2020; Volume 37, Issue 2, eff. October 14, 2020; Volume 37, Issue 25, eff. September 1, 2021.

18VAC85-160-50. Requirements for licensure as a surgical assistant.

A. An applicant for licensure shall submit a completed application and a fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40 on forms provided by the board.

B. An applicant for licensure as a surgical assistant shall provide evidence of:

1. A current credential as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant issued by the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or the National Commission for Certification of Surgical Assistants or their successors;

2. Successful completion of a surgical assistant training program during the applicant's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces of the United States; or

3. Practice as a surgical assistant in the Commonwealth at any time in the six months immediately prior to July 1, 2020.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 9, eff. February 13, 2015; amended, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 2, eff. October 14, 2020.

18VAC85-160-51. Requirements for certification as a surgical technologist.

A. An applicant for certification as a surgical technologist shall submit a completed application and a fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40 on forms provided by the board.

B. An applicant for certification as a surgical technologist shall provide satisfactory evidence of:

1. Successful completion of an accredited surgical technologist training program and a current credential as a certified surgical technologist from the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or its successor; or

2. Successful completion of a training program for surgical technology during the applicant's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces of the United States.

C. The board will certify a surgical technologist who registers with the board by December 31, 2023, if that surgical technologist provides satisfactory evidence of:

1. Practice as a surgical technologist prior to October 1, 2022; or

2. Attendance of a surgical technologist training program prior to October 1, 2022.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2956.12 of the Code Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 2, eff. October 14, 2020; amended, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 25, eff. September 1, 2021; Volume 39, Issue 4, eff. November 9, 2022; Volume 40, Issue 4, eff. November 8, 2023.

18VAC85-160-60. Renewal of licensure for a surgical assistant.

A surgical assistant who was licensed based on a credential as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant issued by the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or the National Commission for the Certification of Surgical Assistants or their successors shall attest that the credential is current at the time of renewal.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 4, eff. November 14, 2018; amended, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 2, eff. October 14, 2020.

FORMS (18VAC85-160).

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a Licensed Surgical Assistant (rev. 10/2020)

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a Certified Surgical Technologist (rev. 5/2022)

License Verification Request (rev. 2/2024)

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.