Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 15. Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
8/15/2020

Chapter 380. Watercraft: Motorboat Numbering

4VAC15-380-10 to 4VAC15-380-20. [Repealed]

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-04-2 §§ 1 to 2, eff. October 1, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 10, Issue 26, eff. January 1, 1995; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-30. Numbering pattern.

The motorboat number assigned shall consist of the symbol "VA" identifying the Commonwealth followed by not more than four arabic numerals and two capital letters, in sequence, separated by a hyphen or equivalent space in accordance with the serial numerically and alphabetically; e.g., "VA 1234 BB" or "VA-1234-BB." Since the letters "I," "O" and "Q" may be mistaken for arabic numbers, all letter sequences using "I," "O" and "Q" shall be omitted.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-04-2 § 3, eff. October 1, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 10, Issue 26, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-40. Display of numbers.

The numbers assigned for a motorboat shall be painted on or attached to each side of the forward half of the vessel to which issued in such a position as to provide clear legibility for identification; provided, that on vessels so configured that a number on the hull or superstructure would not be easily visible or the numbers would not remain securely attached, the number must be painted on or attached to a backing plate that is attached to the forward half of the vessel so that the number is visible from each side of the vessel. The numbers shall read from left to right and shall be in block characters of good proportion not less than three inches in height. The numbers shall be a color which will contrast with the color of the background and so maintained as to be clearly visible and legible; i.e., dark numbers on a light background or light numbers on a dark background.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-04-2 § 4, eff. October 1, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 10, Issue 26, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-50. Report of change of status of watercraft or owner.

Whenever a motorboat for which there exists a certificate of number changes ownership, the seller shall report such transfer to the department within 15 days in writing and in a format approved by the department. The holder of a certificate of number shall notify the department within 15 days of the theft or recovery of a vessel, the loss or destruction of a valid certificate of number, or when there has been a change in military status.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-04-2 § 5, eff. October 1, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 10, Issue 26, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-60. [Repealed]

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-04-2 § 6, eff. October 1, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 10, Issue 26, eff. January 1, 1995; repealed, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-70. When invalid; removal of numbers and surrender of certificate of number and certificate of title.

A. Certificate of number shall be invalid:

1. When the watercraft is documented, or required to be documented, except as provided for in 4VAC15-380-71;

2. Sixty days after the watercraft is no longer principally used in the Commonwealth;

3. The owner loses his interest in the vessel through legal process; or

4. The certificate of number is cancelled and recalled by the department pursuant to § 29.1-702 D of the Code of Virginia.

When a certificate of number becomes invalid for any reason the person whose name appears on the certificate as owner shall remove the numbers from the vessel, and, within 15 days, surrender the invalid certificate to the department.

B. Certificate of title shall be invalid when:

1. A duplicate title is issued;

2. A new title is issued;

3. The watercraft is documented or required to be documented;

4. The watercraft is registered or titled in another state or country;

5. The title is altered to the point of significant information on the title being unreadable;

6. It appears proper payment has not been made for the certificate of title; or

7. The department ascertains the title has been issued improperly or erroneously.

When a certificate of title becomes invalid for any reason, the department is authorized to cancel and recall the certificate. If recalled by the department, the person whose name appears on the certificate as owner shall within 15 days surrender the invalid certificate to the department. Upon demand of any officer whose duty it is to enforce the game and inland fish laws, the person whose name appears on the certificate as owner shall present any recalled certificate immediately to the officer.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, 29.1-701.1 and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-04-2 § 7, eff. October 1, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 10, Issue 26, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003; Volume 22, Issue 6, eff. March 1, 2006.

4VAC15-380-71. Registration decals issued to documented vessels; exception to display of numbers.

A. The owner of a federally documented vessel otherwise exempt from motorboat numbering requirements pursuant to § 29.1-710 of the Code of Virginia may nonetheless request the issuance of motorboat registration decals. Upon application and payment of the same fees prescribed in 4VAC15-380-120, the department will issue nontransferable decals that may be affixed to a window or windshield on the sides of the vessel.

B. Vessels for which registration decals are requested and issued pursuant to subsection A of this section are not required to display the registration numbers of those decals.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, 29.1-701.1 and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 6, eff. March 1, 2006.

4VAC15-380-80. Effective date of cancellation.

The effective date of cancellation of a certificate of number or certificate of title shall be the date the cancellation request was processed by the department, or up to 15 days prior to the receipt of the cancellation request, provided the owner furnishes evidence satisfactory to the department that the certificate of number or certificate of title became invalid pursuant to 4VAC15-380-70 within those 15 days.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-90. Inspection of watercraft.

Any officer whose duty it is to enforce the game and inland fish laws may, when requested by the department, inspect watercraft for which an application for certificate of number or certificate of title has been received by the department.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-100. Fees for more than 10 watercraft registrations.

The uniform registration rate for the first 10 and reduced rate for each additional watercraft as authorized in § 29.1-702 of the Code of Virginia for an individual owner apply only when the owner maintains a minimum of 10 watercraft with active registrations.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

4VAC15-380-110. Lifeboats and tender vessels defined.

The term "lifeboat" as used in § 29.1-710 of the Code of Virginia shall mean a boat used exclusively as a lifesaving device during times of emergency.

The term "tender vessel" as authorized under § 29.1-710 of the Code of Virginia shall mean a vessel equipped with propulsion machinery of less than 10 horsepower that:

1. Is owned by the owner of a vessel for which a valid certificate of number has been issued;

2. Displays the number of the owner's vessel as prescribed in 4VAC15-380-30 followed by the suffix "1"; and

3. Is used as a tender for direct transportation between that vessel and the shore and for no other purpose.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-710 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 36, Issue 2, eff. October 1, 2019.

4VAC15-380-120. Certificate of registration and titling fees.

A. The following fees shall be paid by applicants for certificates of registration:

For a motorboat under 16 feet

$32

For a motorboat 16 feet to less than 20 feet

$36

For a motorboat 20 feet to less than 40 feet

$42

For a motorboat 40 feet and over

$50

For first 10 actively registered motorboats by the same owner

$32

For more than 10 actively registered motorboats by the same owner

$26

For a duplicate certificate of registration or decal

$14

B. The following fees shall be paid by applicants for certificates of title:

Titling fee

$10

Duplicate title

$7

Change of motor on title

$7

Record supplemental lien on previously titled watercraft

$10

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-701 and 29.1-701.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 13, eff. March 1, 2019.

4VAC15-380-130. Penalties.

Except as otherwise provided by statute, any person who violates any provision of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor for each such violation as provided by § 29.1-746 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501, 29.1-502, 29.1-701, and 29.1-735 of the Code of Virginia and Item 392 of the 2002 Appropriation Act.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2003.

Forms (4VAC15-380)

Application for duplicate validation decals, #DVD-7-93-IM.

Application for change of motor, MCH-9/91-IM.

Notification of change in status of a numbered vessel.

Affidavit of authority to transfer registration when registered owner is deceased.

Application for Duplicate Certificate of Boat Number, BC/DCT-2m (eff. 9/93).



Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.