Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
6/24/2024

Part I. General Provisions

18VAC90-50-10. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia:

"Board"

"Massage therapist"

"Massage therapy"

B. The following word when used in this chapter shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"NCBTMB" means the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 24, eff. September 17, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 7, eff. January 15, 2003; Errata, 19:8 VA.R. 1273 December 30, 2002; amended, Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 4, eff. December 11, 2008; Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 21, 2016.

18VAC90-50-20. Operational requirements.

A. Requirements for current mailing address.

1. Each applicant or licensee shall maintain a current address of record with the board. Any change in the address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be submitted electronically or in writing to the board within 30 days of such change.

2. All required notices mailed by the board to any applicant or licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the latest address of record on file with the board.

B. A licensee who has had a change of name shall submit as legal proof to the board a copy of the marriage certificate, a certificate of naturalization, or a court order evidencing the change. A duplicate license shall be issued by the board upon receipt of such evidence and the required fee.

C. Each licensed massage therapist shall conspicuously post his current Virginia license in a public area at his practice location.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 24, eff. September 17, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 17, eff. July 1, 2009; Volume 29, Issue 22, eff. August 15, 2013; Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 21, 2016.

18VAC90-50-30. Fees.

A. Fees listed in this section shall be payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and shall not be refunded unless otherwise provided.

B. Fees required by the board are:

1. Application and initial licensure

$140

2. Biennial renewal

$95

3. Late renewal

$30

4. Reinstatement of licensure

$150

5. Reinstatement after suspension or revocation

$200

6. Duplicate license

$15

7. Replacement wall certificate

$25

8. Verification of licensure

$35

9. Transcript of all or part of applicant/licensee records

$35

10. Handling fee for returned check or dishonored credit card or debit card

$50

C. For renewal of licensure from July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2019, the following fee shall be in effect:

Biennial renewal

$71

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 24, eff. September 17, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 11, eff. March 14, 2001; Volume 22, Issue 12, eff. March 22, 2006; Volume 27, Issue 20, eff. July 6, 2011; Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 21, 2016; Volume 33, Issue 16, eff. May 3, 2017; Volume 36, Issue 9, eff. February 6, 2020.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.