Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
5/25/2024

Part II. Requirements for Licensure

18VAC90-50-40. Initial licensure.

A. An applicant seeking initial licensure shall submit a completed application and required fee and verification of meeting the requirements of § 54.1-3029 A of the Code of Virginia as follows:

1. Is at least 18 years old;

2. Has successfully completed a massage therapy educational program that required a minimum of 500 hours of training. The massage therapy educational program shall be certified or approved by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia or an agency in another state, the District of Columbia, or a United States territory that approves educational programs, notwithstanding the provisions of § 23.1-226 of the Code of Virginia;

3. Has passed the Licensing Examination of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, or an exam deemed acceptable to the board;

4. Has not committed any acts or omissions that would be grounds for disciplinary action or denial of certification as set forth in § 54.1-3007 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC90-50-90; and

5. Has completed a criminal history background check as required by § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia.

B. An applicant shall attest that he has read and will comply with laws and regulations and the professional code of ethics relating to massage therapy.

C. An applicant who completed a massage therapy educational program in a foreign country may apply for licensure as a massage therapist upon submission of evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

1. Is at least 18 years old;

2. Has successfully completed a massage therapy educational program in a foreign country that is comparable to a massage therapy educational program required for licensure by the board as demonstrated by submission of evidence of comparability and equivalency provided by an agency that evaluates credentials for persons who have studied outside the United States;

3. Has passed a board-approved English language proficiency examination; and

4. Has not committed any acts or omissions that would be grounds for disciplinary action or denial of licensure as set forth in Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

The board shall issue a license to an applicant who meets the requirements in this subsection upon submission by the applicant of evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has completed an English version of the Licensing Examination of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards or a comparable examination deemed acceptable to the board.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 24, eff. September 17, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 7, eff. January 15, 2003; Errata, 19:8 VA.R. 1273 December 30, 2002; amended, Virginia Register Volume 25, Issue 4, eff. December 11, 2008; Volume 28, Issue 25, eff. September 12, 2012; Volume 29, Issue 22, eff. August 15, 2013; Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 21, 2016; Volume 34, Issue 9, eff. January 24, 2018; Volume 37, Issue 1, eff. September 30, 2020.

18VAC90-50-50. Licensure by endorsement.

A. A massage therapist who has been licensed in another United States jurisdiction with requirements substantially equivalent to those stated in 18VAC90-50-40 and who is in good standing or is eligible for reinstatement, if lapsed, shall be eligible to apply for licensure by endorsement in Virginia.

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit a completed application and required fee, including a criminal history background check as required by § 54.1-3005.1 of the Code of Virginia, to the board and shall submit the required form to the appropriate credentialing agency in the state of original licensure or certification for verification.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 24, eff. September 17, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 7, eff. January 15, 2003; Errata, 19:8 VA.R. 1273 December 30, 2002; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 21, 2016.

18VAC90-50-60. Provisional licensure.

A. An eligible candidate who has filed a completed application for licensure in Virginia, including completion of education requirements, may engage in the provisional practice of massage therapy in Virginia while waiting to take the licensing examination for a period not to exceed 90 days from the date on the written authorization from the board. A provisional license may be issued for one 90-day period and may not be renewed.

B. The designation of "massage therapist" or "licensed massage therapist" shall not be used by the applicant during the 90 days of provisional licensure.

C. An applicant who fails the licensing examination shall have his provisional licensure withdrawn upon the receipt of the examination results and shall not be eligible for licensure until he passes such examination.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 24, eff. September 17, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 7, eff. January 15, 2003; Errata 19:8 VA.R. 1273 December 30, 2002; amended, Virginia Register Volume 29, Issue 22, eff. August 15, 2013; Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 21, 2016; Volume 34, Issue 9, eff. January 24, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.