Saint Paul, Town of

County of Wise

History of incorporation

Incorporated by Circuit Court of Wise County, April 12, 1911.

Current charter

Charter, 1978, c. 111.

Amendments to current charter

1979, c. 170 (§ 2.1)

Chapter 1. Incorporation and Boundaries.

§ 1.1. Incorporation.

The inhabitants of the territory comprised within the present limits of the town of Saint Paul as such limitations are now, or may hereafter be altered and established by law, shall constitute a body politic and corporate, to be known and designated as the town of Saint Paul, and such shall have perpetual succession, may sue and be sued, implead and be impleaded, contract and be contracted with, and may have a corporate seal which it may alter, renew, or amend at its pleasure by proper ordinance.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 1.2. Boundaries.

The territory embraced within the town of Saint Paul is that territory in the county of Wise and Russell County, Virginia as set forth by Common Law Order under date of April 12, 1911, in the Clerk's Office for the Circuit Court of Wise County, Virginia, and by the Common Law Order under date of December 19, 1972 in the Clerk's Office of the Circuit Court of Russell County, Virginia.  (1978, c. 111)

Chapter 2. Powers.

§ 2.1. The town of Saint Paul shall have all powers that may be conferred upon or delegated to towns under the Constitution and laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia, including, but not limited to, those powers set forth in §§ 15.1-837 through 15.1-907 of the Code of Virginia as amended.  (1978, c. 111; 1979, c. 170)

Chapter 3. Mayor and Council.

§ 3.1. Election, qualification and term of office.

A. The town of Saint Paul shall be governed by a town council composed of seven members, all of whom shall be qualified voters of the town.

B. The council in office at the time of the passage of this act shall continue until the expiration of the terms for which they were elected or until their successors are duly elected and qualified. The council shall be elected in the manner provided by law, as follows: At the regular municipal election to be held on the first Tuesday in May, 1978, six members shall be elected. The three members each of whom has received more votes in such election than either of the other three members shall serve as members of the council for terms of four years each. The remaining three members shall serve for terms of two years each. At the regular municipal election to be held on the first Tuesday in May, 1980, and every two years thereafter, three councilmen shall be elected each for a term of four years beginning on the first day of July next following their election. Each councilman elected as hereinabove provided shall serve for the term stated or until his successor shall have been elected and qualified. The council shall be a continuing body, and no measure pending before such body shall abate or be discontinued by reason of expiration of term of office or removal of any of its members.

C. At the regular municipal election to be held on the first Tuesday in May of 198, and every two years thereafter, the qualified voters shall elect a mayor to serve for a term of two years or until his successor shall have been elected and qualified. The mayor shall preside at meetings of the council and shall be recognized as head of the town government for ceremonial purposes and by the Governor for purposes of military law. He shall have the same powers and duties as other members of council; however, the mayor shall vote only in case of a tie and shall have no veto powers.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 3.2. Vacancies.

Vacancies on the council and in the office of Mayor shall be filled for the unexpired term by a majority vote of the remaining members of council.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 3.3. Qualification of members.

Any person qualified to vote in the town shall be eligible for the office of councilman or mayor.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 3.4. Powers of council.

The council along with the mayor shall make such rules as are necessary for the orderly conduct of their business not inconsistent with the laws of Virginia and shall have the powers in their discretion to appoint a vice-mayor, town manager, clerk, treasurer, town attorney, and a chief of police, who shall have such duties and shall serve at the pleasure of the Council and at such compensation as the council may determine, consistent with general law.  (1978, c. 111)

Chapter 4. Miscellaneous.

§ 4.1. Eminent domain.

The powers of eminent domain as set forth in Title 15.1 and Title 25 of the Code of Virginia as amended are hereby conferred upon the town of Saint Paul.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 4.2. Fiscal year.

The fiscal year of the town shall begin on July one of each year and end on June thirty of the following year.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 4.3. Ordinances continuing.

All ordinances now in force in the town of Saint Paul, not inconsistent with this charter, shall remain in force until altered, amended, or repealed by the council.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 4.4. Legislative procedure.

Except in dealing with parliamentary procedure the council shall act only by ordinance or resolution, and with the exception of ordinances making appropriations, or authorizing the contracting of indebtedness, shall be confined to one general subject.  (1978, c. 111)

§ 4.5. Office of town sergeant not to be created.

In accordance with the provisions of § 15.1-796 of the Code of Virginia, there shall not be created in the town the office of town sergeant.  (1978, c. 111)