Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 10. Motor Vehicle and Equipment Safety
8/22/2019

§ 46.2-1142.1. Extensions of overweight limits authorized under § 46.2-1142 for vehicles used to haul concrete; fees.

Owners or operators of vehicles used exclusively to haul concrete may apply for permits to extend the single axle weight limit of 20,000 pounds, the tandem axle weight limit of 40,000 pounds, the four axle weight of 70,000 pounds, the tri-axle grouping weight of 50,000 pounds, and the three-axle weight of 60,000 pounds provided for in § 46.2-1142, by a maximum of five percent. The fee for such permits shall be $250, to be allocated as follows: (i) $245 deposited into the Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund established pursuant to § 33.2-1530 to be used to assist in funding needed highway pavement and bridge maintenance and rehabilitation and (ii) a $5 administrative fee to the Department.

Permits issued under this section shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance. No permit issued under this section shall authorize violation of any weight limitation, promulgated and posted in accordance with § 46.2-1130, applicable to bridges or culverts. Permits issued under this section shall authorize extensions of the limitation provided for in § 46.2-1128 for vehicles operating on interstate highways only to the extent that any such extension (i) is not inconsistent with federal law and (ii) will not jeopardize or require the withholding or reduction of federal transportation funding otherwise available to the Commonwealth or any of its political subdivisions.

The Commissioner shall make the permit available to vehicles registered outside the Commonwealth under the same conditions and restrictions which are applicable to vehicles registered within the Commonwealth. The Commissioner may promulgate regulations governing such permits. Except as provided in this section and § 46.2-1142, no weights in excess of those authorized by law shall be tolerated.

1990, c. 195; 1997, c. 283; 2000, c. 265; 2001, cc. 822, 857; 2012, c. 443.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.