Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
8/7/2020

This section has more than one version with varying effective dates. Scroll down to see all versions.

§ 46.2-697. (Contingent expiration date) Fees for vehicles not designed or used for transportation of passengers.

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the fee for registration of all motor vehicles not designed and used for the transportation of passengers shall be $23 plus an amount determined by the gross weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles of which it is a part, when loaded to the maximum capacity for which it is registered and licensed, according to the schedule of fees set forth in this section. For each 1,000 pounds of gross weight, or major fraction thereof, for which any such vehicle is registered, there shall be paid to the Commissioner the fee indicated in the following schedule immediately opposite the weight group and under the classification established by the provisions of subsection B of § 46.2-711 into which such vehicle, or any combination of vehicles of which it is a part, falls when loaded to the maximum capacity for which it is registered and licensed. The fee for a pickup or panel truck shall be $23 if its gross weight is 4,000 pounds or less and $28 if its gross weight is 4,001 pounds through 6,500 pounds. The fee shall be $32 for any motor vehicle with a gross weight of 6,501 pounds through 10,000 pounds.

aFee Per Thousand Pounds of Gross Weight
bGross Weight
Groups (pounds)
Private CarriersFor Rent or
For Hire Carriers
c10,001 -- 11,000$3.17$4.75
d11,001 -- 12,0003.424.90
e12,001 -- 13,0003.665.15
f13,001 -- 14,0003.905.40
g14,001 -- 15,0004.155.65
h15,001 -- 16,0004.395.90
i16,001 -- 17,0004.886.15
j17,001 -- 18,0005.376.40
k18,001 -- 19,0005.867.50
l19,001 -- 20,0006.347.70
m20,001 -- 21,0006.837.90
n21,001 -- 22,0007.328.10
o22,001 -- 23,0007.818.30
p23,001 -- 24,0008.308.50
q24,001 -- 25,0008.428.70
r25,001 -- 26,0008.488.90
s26,001 -- 27,00010.0710.35
t27,001 -- 28,00010.1310.55
u28,001 -- 29,00010.1810.75
v29,001 -- 40,00010.3110.95
w40,001 -- 45,00010.4311.15
x45,001 -- 50,00010.6811.25
y50,001 -- 55,00011.2913.25
z55,001 -- 76,00013.7315.25
aa76,001 -- 80,00016.1716.25

For all such motor vehicles exceeding a gross weight of 6,500 pounds, an additional fee of $5 shall be imposed.

B. In lieu of registering any motor vehicle referred to in this section for an entire licensing year, the owner may elect to register the vehicle only for one or more quarters of a licensing year, and in such case, the fee shall be 25 percent of the annual fee plus $5 for each quarter that the vehicle is registered.

C. When an owner elects to register and license a motor vehicle under subsection B, the provisions of §§ 46.2-646 and 46.2-688 shall not apply.

D. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no vehicle designed, equipped, and used to tow disabled or inoperable motor vehicles shall be required to register in accordance with any gross weight other than the gross weight of the towing vehicle itself, exclusive of any vehicle being towed.

E. All registrations and licenses issued for less than a full year shall expire on the date shown on the license and registration.

Code 1950, § 46-162; 1956, c. 477; 1958, c. 541, § 46.1-154; 1962, c. 86; 1964, c. 218; 1964, Ex. Sess., c. 22; 1973, c. 517; 1974, c. 150; 1979, c. 244; 1982, c. 671; 1984, c. 144; 1986 Sp. Sess., c. 11; 1989, c. 727; 1997, c. 283; 2007, c. 896; 2020, cc. 1230, 1275.

§ 46.2-697. (Contingent effective date — see Editor's note) Fees for vehicles not designed or used for transportation of passengers.

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the fee for registration of all motor vehicles not designed and used for the transportation of passengers shall be thirteen dollars plus an amount determined by the gross weight of the vehicle or combination of vehicles of which it is a part, when loaded to the maximum capacity for which it is registered and licensed, according to the schedule of fees set forth in this section. For each 1,000 pounds of gross weight, or major fraction thereof, for which any such vehicle is registered, there shall be paid to the Commissioner the fee indicated in the following schedule immediately opposite the weight group and under the classification established by the provisions of subsection B of § 46.2-711 into which such vehicle, or any combination of vehicles of which it is a part, falls when loaded to the maximum capacity for which it is registered and licensed. The fee for a pickup or panel truck shall be twenty-three dollars if its gross weight is 4,000 pounds or less, and twenty-eight dollars if its gross weight is 4,001 pounds through 6,500 pounds. The fee shall be twenty-nine dollars for any motor vehicle with a gross weight of 6,501 pounds through 10,000 pounds.

aFee Per Thousand Pounds of Gross Weight
bGross Weight
Groups (pounds)
Private CarriersFor Rent or
For Hire Carriers
c10,001 -- 11,000$2.60$4.75
d11,001 -- 12,0002.804.90
e12,001 -- 13,0003.005.15
f13,001 -- 14,0003.205.40
g14,001 -- 15,0003.405.65
h15,001 -- 16,0003.605.90
i16,001 -- 17,0004.006.15
j17,001 -- 18,0004.406.40
k18,001 -- 19,0004.80 7.50
l19,001 -- 20,0005.207.70
m20,001 -- 21,0005.607.90
n21,001 -- 22,0006.008.10
o22,001 -- 23,0006.40 8.30
p23,001 -- 24,0006.808.50
q24,001 -- 25,0006.908.70
r25,001 -- 26,0006.958.90
s26,001 -- 27,0008.2510.35
t27,001 -- 28,0008.3010.55
u28,001 -- 29,0008.3510.75
v29,001 -- 40,0008.45 10.95
w40,001 -- 45,0008.5511.15
x45,001 -- 50,0008.7511.25
y50,001 -- 55,0008.2513.25
z55,001 -- 76,00011.2515.25
aa76,001 -- 80,00013.2516.25

For all such motor vehicles exceeding a gross weight of 6,500 pounds, an additional fee of five dollars shall be imposed.

B. In lieu of registering any motor vehicle referred to in this section for an entire licensing year, the owner may elect to register the vehicle only for one or more quarters of a licensing year, and in such case, the fee shall be twenty-five percent of the annual fee plus five dollars for each quarter that the vehicle is registered.

C. When an owner elects to register and license a motor vehicle under subsection B of this section, the provisions of §§ 46.2-646 and 46.2-688 shall not apply.

D. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no vehicle designed, equipped, and used to tow disabled or inoperable motor vehicles shall be required to register in accordance with any gross weight other than the gross weight of the towing vehicle itself, exclusive of any vehicle being towed.

E. All registrations and licenses issued for less than a full year shall expire on the date shown on the license and registration.

Code 1950, § 46-162; 1956, c. 477; 1958, c. 541, § 46.1-154; 1962, c. 86; 1964, c. 218; 1964, Ex. Sess., c. 22; 1973, c. 517; 1974, c. 150; 1979, c. 244; 1982, c. 671; 1984, c. 144; 1986 Sp. Sess., c. 11; 1989, c. 727; 1997, c. 283.

*This section is set out twice because the 22nd enactment of Chapter 896 of the Acts of Assembly of 2007 states: "That the provisions of this act which generate additional revenue for the Transportation Trust Fund, established under § 33.1-23.03:1 of the Code of Virginia, or the Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund shall expire on December 31 of any year in which the General Assembly appropriates any of the revenues designated under general law to the Highway Maintenance and Operating Fund or the Transportation Trust Fund for any non-transportation related purpose."

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.