Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
8/11/2020

§ 46.2-753. Additional license fees in certain localities.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the governing bodies of Alexandria, Arlington, Fairfax County, Fairfax City, and Falls Church are authorized to charge annual license fees, in addition to those specified in § 46.2-752, on passenger cars, including passenger cars that are used as TNC partner vehicles as defined in § 46.2-2000, but not on passenger cars that are otherwise used for the transportation of passengers for compensation. The additional fee shall be no more than $5. The total local license fee shall be no more than $25 on any vehicle, and this license fee shall not be imposed on any motor vehicle exempted under § 46.2-739.

The governing bodies are also authorized to charge additional annual license fees on the motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers as specified in § 46.2-697 in an amount of no more than $5 for each such vehicle. This authorization shall not increase the maximum chargeable by more than $5 or affect any existing exemption.

Any funds acquired in excess of those allowed by § 46.2-752, shall be allocated to the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission to be a credit to that locality making the payment for its share of any operating deficit assigned to it by the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.

1974, c. 487; 1977, c. 258, § 46.1-65.1; 1989, c. 727; 2015, cc. 2, 3.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.