Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 10. Cigarette Tax
7/16/2024

§ 58.1-1001. Tax levied; rate.

A. 1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 or subsection B, in addition to all other taxes now imposed by law, every person within the Commonwealth who sells, stores, or receives cigarettes made of tobacco or any substitute thereof, for the purpose of distribution to any person within the Commonwealth, shall pay to the Commonwealth an excise tax of one and one-quarter mills on each such cigarette sold, stored, or received before August 1, 2004; an excise tax of one cent on each such cigarette sold, stored, or received on and after August 1, 2004, through midnight on June 30, 2005; an excise tax of 1.5 cents on each such cigarette sold, stored, or received on and after July 1, 2005, but before July 1, 2020; and an excise tax of three cents on each cigarette sold, stored, or received on and after July 1, 2020.

2. In addition to all other taxes now imposed by law, every person within the Commonwealth who sells, stores, or receives cigarettes intended to be heated for the purpose of distribution to any person within the Commonwealth shall pay to the Commonwealth an excise tax at the rate of 2.25 cents per stick on each such cigarette intended to be heated that is sold, stored, or received on and after July 1, 2024.

B. In addition to all other taxes now imposed by law, every person within the Commonwealth who sells, stores, or receives roll-your-own tobacco, for the purpose of distribution within the Commonwealth, shall pay to the Commonwealth a cigarette excise tax at the rate of 10 percent of the manufacturer's sales price of such roll-your-own tobacco.

C. The revenues generated by the taxes imposed under this section on and after August 1, 2004, shall be collected by the Department and deposited into the Virginia Health Care Fund established under § 32.1-366.

D. The provisions of this section shall not apply to members of federal, state, county, city, or town law-enforcement agencies when possession of unstamped cigarettes is necessary in the performance of investigatory duties.

Code 1950, § 58-757.1; 1960, c. 392, § 1; 1980, c. 633; 1984, c. 675; 2004, Sp. Sess. I, c. 3; 2006, c. 768; 2014, cc. 422, 458; 2024, c. 611.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.