Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 10. Cigarette Tax
7/14/2020

§ 58.1-1017.1. Possession with intent to distribute tax-paid, contraband cigarettes; penalties.

Any person who possesses, with intent to distribute, more than 5,000 (25 cartons) but fewer than 40,000 (200 cartons) tax-paid cigarettes is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor for a first offense and is guilty of a Class 6 felony for any second or subsequent offense. Any person who possesses, with intent to distribute, 40,000 (200 cartons) or more tax-paid cigarettes is guilty of a Class 6 felony for a first offense and is guilty of a Class 5 felony for a second or subsequent offense. Additionally, any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be assessed a civil penalty of (i) $2.50 per pack, but no less than $5,000, for a first offense; (ii) $5 per pack, but no less than $10,000, for a second such offense committed within a 36-month period; and (iii) $10 per pack, but no less than $50,000, for a third or subsequent such offense committed within a 36-month period. The civil penalties shall be assessed and collected by the Department as other taxes are collected.

The provisions of this section shall not apply to an authorized holder.

2012, cc. 362, 472; 2013, cc. 567, 623; 2014, cc. 422, 463, 751; 2015, cc. 273, 290.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.