Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 10.1. Enforcement of Illegal Sale or Distribution of Cigarettes Act
9/26/2022

§ 58.1-1035. Revocation or suspension of permit by Department; civil penalties; sharing of information.

A. The Department may revoke or suspend the permit of any wholesale dealer, as defined in § 58.1-1000, for a violation of this chapter or any rule adopted by the Department as provided in § 58.1-1011.

B. In addition, the Department may impose a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed the greater of 500 percent of the retail value of the cigarettes involved or $5,000 upon finding a violation of this chapter and may assess the tax due and any interest on the product acquired, possessed, sold, or offered for sale in violation of this chapter.

C. For the purpose of enforcing this chapter, the Department may request or share information with any federal, state or local agency, including any agency of another state or local agency thereof.

2000, cc. 880, 901.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.