Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 3. Income Tax

§ 58.1-348.4. Failure to provide identification number; civil penalty.

A. No income tax return preparer may provide tax preparation services for Virginia income tax returns unless he provides his PTIN, as defined in § 58.1-348.3, when submitting a return and signing as an income tax return preparer.

B. In addition to all other penalties provided by law, any person who violates subsection A shall pay a civil penalty to the Department in the amount of $50 per offense, but not to exceed $25,000 per calendar year. No penalty shall be imposed if the violation is reasonable and unintentional as determined by the Department.

2018, c. 150.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.