Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 39. Enforcement, Collection, Refunds, Remedies and Review of Local Taxes
11/28/2020

§ 58.1-3912. Local tax officials to mail certain tax documents to taxpayers; penalties; electronic transmission.

A. The treasurer of every city and county shall, as soon as reasonably possible in each year, but not later than 14 days prior to the due date of the taxes, send or cause to be sent by United States mail to each taxpayer assessed with taxes and levies for that year a bill or bills setting forth the amounts due. The treasurer may elect not to send a bill amounting to $20 or less as shown by an assessment book in such treasurer's office. The treasurer may employ the services of a mailing service or other vendor for fulfilling the requirements of this section. The failure of any such treasurer to comply with this section shall be a Class 4 misdemeanor. Such treasurer shall be deemed in compliance with this section as to any taxes due on real estate if, upon certification by the obligee of any note or other evidence of debt secured by a mortgage or deed of trust on such real estate that an agreement has been made with the obligor in writing within the mortgage or deed of trust instrument that such arrangements be made, he mails the bill for such taxes to the obligee thereof. Upon nonpayment of taxes by either the obligee or obligor, a past-due tax bill will be sent to the taxpayer. No governing body shall publish the name of a taxpayer in connection with a tax debt for which a bill was not sent, without first sending a notice of deficiency to his last known address at least two weeks before such publication.

B. The governing body of any county, city or town may attach to or mail with all real estate and tangible personal property tax bills, prepared for taxpayers in such locality, information indicating how the tax rate charged upon such property and revenue derived therefrom is apportioned among the various services and governmental functions provided by the locality.

C. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this section, in any county which has adopted the urban county executive form of government, and in any county contiguous thereto which has adopted the county executive form of government, tangible personal property tax bills shall be mailed not later than 30 days prior to the due date of such taxes.

D. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A of this section, any county and town, the governing bodies of which mutually agree, shall be allowed to send, to each taxpayer assessed with taxes, by United States mail no later than 14 days prior to the due date of the taxes, a single real property tax bill and a single tangible personal property tax bill.

E. Beginning with tax year 2006, in addition to all other information currently appearing on tangible personal property tax bills, each such bill required to be sent pursuant to subsection A shall state on its face (i) whether the vehicle is a qualifying vehicle as defined in § 58.1-3523; (ii) a statement indicating the reduced tangible personal property tax rates applied to qualifying vehicles resulting from the Commonwealth's reimbursements for tangible personal property tax relief pursuant to § 58.1-3524, and the locality's tangible personal property tax rate for its general class of tangible personal property, provided that such statement shall not be required for tax bills in any county, city, or town that will not receive any reimbursement pursuant to subsection B of § 58.1-3524; (iii) the vehicle's registration number pursuant to § 46.2-604; (iv) the amount of tangible personal property tax levied on the vehicle; and (v) if the locality prorates personal property tax pursuant to § 58.1-3516, the number of months for which a bill is being sent.

F. 1. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A or the provisions of § 58.1-3330, 58.1-3518, or 58.1-3518.1, the treasurer, commissioner of the revenue, or other local tax official, consistent with guidelines promulgated by the Department of Taxation implementing the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 58.1-1820, may convey, with the written consent of the taxpayer, any tax bill or other tax document by electronic means chosen by the taxpayer, including without limitation facsimile transmission or electronic mail (email), in lieu of posting such bill by first-class mail. The treasurer, commissioner of the revenue, or other local tax official conveying a bill or other tax document by means authorized in this subdivision shall maintain a copy (in written form or electronic media) of the bill or document reflecting the date of transmission until such time as the bill has been satisfied or otherwise removed from the books of the treasurer, commissioner of the revenue, or other local tax official by operation of law. Transmission of a bill or tax document pursuant to this subsection shall have the same force and effect for all purposes arising under this subtitle as mailing to the taxpayer by first-class mail on the date of transmission.

2. The treasurer, commissioner of the revenue, or other local taxing official also may convey, with the consent of the taxpayer, any tax bill or other document by permitting the taxpayer to access his information online from a database on the locality's or official's website.

3. Consent of the taxpayer under this subsection may be obtained from the taxpayer electronically, subject to reasonable verification of the taxpayer's identity.

G. Any solid waste disposal fee imposed by a county may be attached to, mailed with, or stated on the appropriate real estate tax bill.

Code 1950, § 58-960; 1954, c. 205; 1956, c. 701; 1968, c. 206; 1980, c. 276; 1982, c. 74; 1984, c. 675; 1985, cc. 406, 543; 1991, c. 187; 1994, c. 207; 1996, c. 323; 1998, Sp. Sess. I, c. 2; 1999, c. 358; 2001, c. 801; 2002, c. 64; 2004, Sp. Sess. I, c. 1; 2005, c. 922; 2013, c. 299; 2016, c. 768.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.