Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 60.2. Unemployment Compensation
Chapter 5. Taxation
9/30/2022

§ 60.2-536.2. Advisory opinion by the Commission.

Upon application by an employer who is a party to a transfer or potential transfer of any trade or business, the Commission shall issue an advisory opinion as to whether such transfer constitutes a transfer pursuant to § 60.2-536.1, or is solely or primarily for the purpose of obtaining a lower unemployment tax rate. The application shall be under oath or affirmation, in a form prescribed by the Commission, and shall fully set forth all relevant facts regarding the proposed transfer. The Commission may require such additional information and documentary evidence as deemed necessary for a fair and informed opinion. Such opinion shall be issued within 60 days after the Commission has received all of the information and evidence requested. An employer who proceeds with the transfer of a trade or business in reliance upon a favorable advisory opinion issued under this section shall not subsequently be found to have violated the provisions of § 18.2-204.3, and shall not be subject to the penalties of § 60.2-536.3, provided such employer has made full disclosure of all relevant facts to the Commission. If an employer disagrees with the Commission's advisory opinion, it shall have the right to a hearing and decision pursuant to § 60.2-500, provided that an application for a hearing is filed with the Commission within 30 days from the date the advisory opinion was mailed.

2005, cc. 47, 91.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.