Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 8.01. Civil Remedies and Procedure
Chapter 18. Executions and Other Means of Recovery

§ 8.01-504. Penalty for service of notice of lien when no judgment exists.

Whoever causes to be served a notice of lien of a writ of fieri facias without there being a judgment against the defendant named therein, shall pay to him the sum of $350, and whoever serves a notice of lien of a writ of fieri facias before the issuance of a writ of fieri facias, or after the return day thereof, or serves or in any way gives a notice of a lien of fieri facias by means other than by service by an officer authorized to serve civil process, shall pay to the named defendant the sum of $350, to be recoverable as damages in an action at law, in addition to whatever damages may be alleged and proven.

Code 1950, § 8-433; 1977, c. 617; 2010, c. 343.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.