Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 20. Domestic Relations
Chapter 6. Divorce, Affirmation and Annulment
12/3/2021

§ 20-122. Advertising offer to obtain divorces.

Whosoever prints, publishes, distributes, or circulates, or causes to be printed, published, distributed, or circulated, any circular, pamphlet, card, handbill, advertisement, printed paper, book, newspaper, or notice of any kind, offering to procure, or aid in procuring, any divorce, or the severance, dissolution, or annulment of any marriage, either in this Commonwealth or elsewhere, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and on conviction thereof shall be fined not less than $190 nor more than $300, provided that the provisions of this section shall not apply to a duly licensed attorney-at-law, partnership composed of duly licensed attorneys-at-law or a professional corporation incorporated for the practice of law so long as such attorney, partnership or professional corporation conducts such advertisement in accordance with the Rules of Court promulgated by the Supreme Court of Virginia. This section shall not apply to the printing or publishing of any notice or advertisement required or authorized by any law of this Commonwealth or orders of any court.

Code 1919, § 5116; 1975, c. 644; 1979, c. 438.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.