Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 3. Licensure of Drivers

§ 46.2-332. Fees.

A. The fee for each driver's license other than a commercial driver's license shall be $2.40 per year. This fee shall not apply to driver privilege cards or permits issued under § 46.2-328.3. If the license is a commercial driver's license or seasonal restricted commercial driver's license, the fee shall be $6 per year. For any one or more driver's license endorsements or classifications, except a motorcycle classification, there shall be an additional fee of $1 per year; for a motorcycle classification, there shall be an additional fee of $2 per year. For any and all driver's license classifications, there shall be an additional fee of $1 per year. For any revalidation of a seasonal restricted commercial driver's license, the fee shall be $5. A fee of $10 shall be charged to extend the validity period of a driver's license pursuant to subsection B of § 46.2-221.2.

B. An applicant who is younger than 18 years of age who does not successfully complete the knowledge portion of the driver's license examination shall not be permitted to take the knowledge portion more than once in 15 days.

C. A fee of $50 shall be charged each time an applicant for a commercial driver's license fails to keep a scheduled skills test appointment, unless such applicant cancels his appointment with the assigned driver's license examiner at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled appointment. The Commissioner may, on a case-by-case basis, waive such fee for good cause shown. All such fees shall be paid by the Commissioner into the state treasury and set aside as a special fund to be used to meet the necessary expenses incurred by the Department.

D. If the applicant for a driver's license is an employee of the Commonwealth, or of any county, city, or town who drives a motorcycle or a commercial motor vehicle solely in the line of his duty, he shall be exempt from the additional fee otherwise assessable for a motorcycle classification or a commercial motor vehicle endorsement. The Commissioner may prescribe the forms as may be requisite for completion by persons claiming exemption from additional fees imposed by this section.

E. No additional fee above $2.40 per year shall be assessed for the driver's license or commercial driver's license required for the operation of a school bus.

F. One dollar and 50 cents of all fees collected for each original or renewal driver's license, other than a driver privilege card issued under § 46.2-328.3, shall be paid into the driver education fund of the state treasury and expended as provided by law. Unexpended funds from the driver education fund shall be retained in the fund and be available for expenditure in ensuing years as provided therein.

G. All fees for motorcycle classifications shall be distributed as provided in § 46.2-1191.

H. This section shall supersede conflicting provisions of this chapter.

1968, c. 642, § 46.1-380.2; 1970, cc. 35, 548, 696; 1972, c. 490; 1973, c. 396; 1974, c. 212; 1976, c. 48; 1980, c. 559; 1984, c. 780; 1989, cc. 705, 727; 1993, c. 70; 1996, cc. 943, 994; 1997, cc. 104, 493; 1999, c. 593; 2007, cc. 190, 223; 2011, cc. 57, 70; 2017, c. 547; 2020, cc. 1227, 1230, 1246, 1275; 2022, cc. 139, 292.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.