Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 3. Licensure of Drivers
2/26/2020

§ 46.2-341.21. Driving while disqualified; penalties.

No person whose privilege to drive a commercial motor vehicle has been suspended or revoked or who has been disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle or who has been ordered out of service, and who has been given notice of, or reasonably should know of the suspension, revocation, disqualification, or out-of-service order shall operate a commercial motor vehicle anywhere in the Commonwealth until the period of such suspension, revocation, disqualification, or out-of-service order has terminated, nor shall any person operate on any highway any vehicle that has been declared out of service until such time as the out-of-service declaration has been lifted.

Any person who violates this section shall, for the first offense, be guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor, and for the second or any subsequent offense, be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor; however, if the offense is the violation of an out-of-service order, the minimum mandatory fine shall be $2,500 for any person so convicted of a first offense and $5,000 for a person convicted of a second or subsequent offense. Upon receipt of a record of a violation of this section, the Commissioner shall impose an additional disqualification in accordance with the provisions of §§ 46.2-341.18 and 46.2-341.18:01.

1989, c. 705, § 46.1-372.20; 1990, c. 218; 1995, cc. 145, 151; 2005, c. 513; 2008, c. 190.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.