Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
6/6/2020

§ 46.2-652. Temporary registration or permit for oversize vehicles; fees.

The Commissioner may grant a temporary registration or permit for the operation of a vehicle or equipment that cannot be licensed because the vehicle, excluding any load thereon, exceeds statutory size limits on the highways in the Commonwealth from one point to another within the Commonwealth, or from the Commonwealth to a point or points outside the Commonwealth, or from outside the Commonwealth to a point or points within the Commonwealth. Any temporary registration or permit issued under this section shall show the registration or permit number, the date of issue, the date of expiration, the vehicle to which it refers, and the route to be traveled or other restrictions and shall be carried in the vehicle.

For a single-trip temporary registration or permit issued under this section, the applicant shall pay a fee of 10 cents ($0.10) per mile for every mile to be traveled, in addition to any administrative fee required by the Department. In lieu of a single-trip permit, an annual multi-trip permit may be issued for a fee of $40, in addition to any administrative fee required by the Department.

For any vehicle that is both overweight and oversize, the permit fees under § 46.2-652.1 shall apply.

Code 1950, § 46-44; 1958, c. 541, § 46.1-43; 1962, c. 535; 1989, c. 727; 1997, c. 283; 2003, c. 314; 2012, c. 443.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.