Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 54.1. Professions and Occupations
Chapter 2. General Provisions
8/23/2019

§ 54.1-202. Monetary penalty; delegation to Director of authority enter consent agreements.

A. Any person licensed or certified by a regulatory board who violates any statute or regulation pertaining to that regulatory board who is not criminally prosecuted shall be subject to the monetary penalty provided in this section. If a regulatory board determines that a respondent is guilty of the violation complained of, the board shall determine the amount of the monetary penalty for the violation, which shall not exceed $2,500 for each violation. The penalty may be sued for and recovered in the name of the Commonwealth.

B. Any regulatory board within the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation may adopt a resolution delegating to the Director the authority to enter into consent agreements on behalf of the regulatory board with regulants of the board. Such resolution shall specify the types of violations to which the delegation applies and the maximum monetary penalty that may be imposed in a consent agreement for each regulatory violation. No delegation of authority pursuant to this subsection shall provide for a monetary penalty over $2,500 per regulatory violation.

1979, c. 408, § 54-1.22; 1988, c. 765; 1999, cc. 37, 950; 2001, c. 832; 2005, c. 383.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.