Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 24. Virginia Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax
11/25/2020

§ 58.1-2411. Civil penalties upon failure to pay tax, etc.

When any person fails to pay the full amount of the tax required by this chapter, there shall be imposed, in addition to other penalties provided herein, a penalty to be added to the tax in the amount of ten percent or ten dollars, whichever is greater; however, if the failure is due to providential or other good cause, shown to the satisfaction of the Commissioner, the tax may be accepted exclusive of penalties. The $10 minimum penalty levied herein shall be applied only in cases where the payment of tax is not received within the time prescribed in this chapter and shall not be considered for audit purposes.

In the case of a false or fraudulent application, where willful intent exists to defraud the Commonwealth of any tax due under this chapter, a specific penalty of 50 percent of the amount of the proper tax shall be assessed. It shall be prima facie evidence of intent to defraud the Commonwealth of any tax due under this chapter when any person reports the sale price of a motor vehicle at 50 percent or less of the actual amount.

Interest at the rate of one and one-half of one percent per month, or a fraction thereof, shall accrue on both tax and penalty until paid.

Code 1950, § 58-685.17:2; 1974, c. 477; 1982, c. 141; 1984, c. 675; 2011, cc. 405, 639.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.