Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 40. Virginia Lottery Law; Sports Betting
1/19/2021

§ 58.1-4042. Operation and advertising of unpermitted facilities prohibited; penalty.

A. No person, except for a permit holder authorized pursuant to the provisions of this article, shall make its premises available for placing sports bets using the Internet or advertise that its premises may be used for such purpose.

B. The Director may impose a monetary penalty for each violation of this section. For a person determined to have made its premises available for placing sports bets using the Internet, the penalty shall not exceed $1,000 per day per individual who places a sports bet. For a person determined to have advertised that its premises may be used for such purpose, the penalty shall not exceed $10,000 per violation.

2020, cc. 1218, 1256.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.