Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 59.1. Trade and Commerce
Chapter 29. Horse Racing and Pari-Mutuel Wagering

§ 59.1-403. Prohibition on persons under 21 years of age; penalty.

No person shall wager on or conduct any wagering on the outcome of a horse race pursuant to the provisions of this chapter unless such person is 18 years of age or older. No person shall accept any wager from a minor. No person shall be admitted into a satellite facility if such person is under 18 years of age unless accompanied by one of his parents or his legal guardian. No person under 21 years of age shall use any electronic gaming terminal or other electronic device in a satellite facility to wager on or conduct any wagering on historical horse racing. Violation of this section shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor.

1988, c. 855; 1996, cc. 915, 1025; 2022, cc. 502, 503.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.